Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Marketing

Product sells in foreign countries.

Books

Finding Books in GIL

To locate books on your particular subject you will need to use the Ingram Library Online Catalog (GIL).  You might want to vary your terms a bit. Remember that books about a country (Brazil) might use the adjective form (Brazilian). In GIL, use a "?" to get alternate endings for a term.

In the advanced keyword search screen, searching: Brazil? and market? will get you some results. Try this for other countries. Try substituting other terms for the word "market?".

Books are assigned Library of Congress Subject Headings. Go to GIL and do a Subject Heading search for Business Etiquette and look to see how the subject headings are subdivided. You might find something for your region.

Due to the construction, some of the books are in workzones. If there is a book that you want in a closed section of the library, ask at one of the service desks and we will go get what you need.

NOTE: most databases use a * to give you alternate endings. GIL is different and uses a ?. This detail might seem small but the difference it makes is huge.

 

Reference Books

You might consult these are you begin your research. Or you might want to use them to look up a quick fact or definition. Often you can find online equivalents but sometimes the organization of a print reference book tells you a lot about the discipline and how its concepts are arranged. Consult these sources as you begin your research. All of these sources are located in the Reference Department and do not circulate outside the Library. Right now these books are on the 3rd floor by the computers.To search for other materials owned by the Ingram Library, go to http://gil.westga.edu. This is not a complete list. If you do not find what you need, please ask a reference librarian.

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Dictionary of Business Terms HF1001 .S5247 2006

Dictionary of Marketing Communications HF5412 .G68 2004

Marketing : the encyclopedia dictionary HF5412 .M47 1999

The Multicultural Economy : minority buying power in the new century HC110 .C6 M85x CD

Portuguese Business Dictionary HF1002 .S567 2006

Sports Marketing. GV716 .S667

Straus's Handbook of Business Information : a guide for librarians, students, and researchers. HF3035 .M71x 2004

US Industry and Market Outlook HC101 .U56

Webster's New World English-Spanish/Spanish-English Business Dictionary HF1002 .K75 2006

The dictionary of international business terms HD62.4 .S524x 1998

Not housed in reference but a good one for you to consult: Kiss, Bow or Shake Hands: how to do business in sixty countries HF5389 .M67 1994