LibGuides: Biology: Marine Biology & Ichthyology

Specialized Databases

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Set and Oceanic Abstracts (ASFA)
Citations to worldwide literature on aquatic resources, limnology, ocean technology, and all aspects of the management of marine and freshwater environments.
more...less...
Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts Set and Oceanic Abstracts includes four subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences & Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environment Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts, ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts; and Oceanic Abstracts. Coverage from 1971-present, with monthly updates.
EBSCO Science and Technology Collection
Contains more than 830 full-text journals and abstracts for more than 1,700 journals. Topics include astrophysics, biology, chemistry, geology, marine sciences, and more.
more...less...
Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences, and materials science.

AlgaeBase
A database of information on algae that includes terrestrial, marine and freshwater organisms.
Envrionmental Contaminants Program (USFWS, Southeast Region)
Information on contaminant prevention, identification and assessment, and cleanup. (U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service)
FishBase
A relational database containing information on practically all fishes known to science. Search by common or scientific name, family, ecosystem, country/island, or topic. Also includes a glossary and reference search tool.