LibGuides: Biology: Environmental Studies

Specialized Databases

Environment Complete
Full-text coverage in agriculture, energy, urban planning, geography, environmental law, public policy, and more.
more...less...
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, geography, pollution and waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains more than 1,957,000 records from more than 1,700 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including 1,125 active core titles and 680 full-text titles) as well as more than 120 monographs.
GreenFILE
Nearly 300,000 citations on such topics as global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
more...less...
GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports. The database contains nearly 300,000 records, full text for a few selected titles and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.

Envirofacts (EPA)
Search multiple databases for facility information, including toxic chemical releases, water discharge permit compliance, hazardous waste handling processes, Superfund status, and air emission estimates.

Encyclopedia of Earth
An electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society.
more...less...
The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. The content is presented in a style intended to be useful to students, educators, scholars, professionals, as well as to the general public.
Carbon Footprints of Nations
Calculate the relative carbon emissions from the world's countries. (Norwegian University of Science and Technology)
NatureServe Explorer
An authoritative source for information on more than 70,000 plants, animals, and ecosystems of the United States and Canada, including in-depth coverage for rare and endangered species.

Sumanas, Inc. Animated Tutorials: Environmental Science
Sumanas develops animated tutorials in a variety of formats for many scientific disciplines.

USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service
Originally established by Congress in 1935 as the Soil Conservation Service (SCS), NRCS has expanded to become a conservation leader for all natural resources, ensuring private lands are conserved, restored, and more resilient to environmental challenges, like climate change.