Resources for Finding and Writing Grants

UWG's OSRP -- Office of Research and Sponsored Programs.

The first stop for discovering grants for which to apply AND managing grant funds once they are received. OSRP offers training, assistance in using grant search tools, and many other services besides. There is even a listserv to which faculty and students may subscribe in order to receive the latest updates from OSRP

Popular Grant Databases

Grant Forward--

This is a database to which UWG subscribes. Access is restricted to UWG users. Logging in from a UWG campus connected computer enables Grant Forward to recognize that you are a UWG user.

SIGN UP: The first thing to do when one first accesses GrantForward from campus is to create an account using "Sign up" in the upper right corner.
CREATE PROFILE: After clicking the confirming email (you may need to check your spam folder), consider creating a researcher profile and indicate your interests.
JOIN GRANT FORWARD LIST-SERVE for GRANT NOTICES: At the last step of profile creation, there is an option to receive notices and recommendations based on your preferences. There are options to receive notices never, daily, weekly, or monthly.

Grants.gov--

This database provides information on grants available through federal agencies. It is searchable by keyword. OSRP has provided training and instructions

Guidestar--

This free database of nonprofit organizations. If one knows the name of a grantor in the private sector, such as a family foundation or a an organization that gives grants, one can look it up in Guidestar to find the the size of its endowment. For many agencies, the latest 990 (trailing the tax year by two years), is available. A 990 is the non-profit form the agency files with the IRS. Typical information on a 990 includes the balance of an organization's endowment, contributions and expenses in a given year, a list of who is on the board of trustees, and sometimes lists of all of the grants given in a year and amounts. Creating a free Guidestar account can unlock access to the 990s and other information about an organization.

Other External Funding Resources through UWG's OSRP--

UWG's OSRP provides access to additional online databases, including the Foundation Directory Online.

Grant Writing by Rekha S. Rajan; Daniel R. Tomal
Call Number: Online: UWG Net ID Required for Access
ISBN: 1475814402
Publication Date: 2015-07-08
A first of its kind, this book provides you everything you need to know about successfully navigating the grant writing process including understanding the language of grant writing, finding grants, preparing the proposal, completing the application, preparing budgets, organizing information and timelines, revising and editing the proposal, including the assessment and evaluation, and building meaningful relationships with program officers and colleagues.
Grant Writing for Dummies by Beverly A. Browning
Call Number: Online-- Access requires UWG NetID
ISBN: 9781118856550
Publication Date: 2014-03-04
Learn to: Navigate federal grant databases and apply online for grants Find the most current public and private sector grant opportunities Create strong statements of need Submit applications that meet funders' expectations Your comprehensive guide to finding and winning grant monies Grant writing can be quite daunting, but this complete guide provides you with everything you need to get started with your application right away! Use this resource, including new and updated material, to move through the entire grant-writing process and apply for some of the billions of dollars available from public and private sector sources. Grant writing 101 -- get an easy-to-understand introduction to the ins and outs of grants, including who funds them and how to receive them Know what funders want -- discover the many grant-making organizations throughout the world and how to tailor your message to what your prospects expect Tug on reviewers' heartstrings -- find out how to tell your story so peer reviewers award your application the maximum number of points The write stuff -- explore writing techniques to create powerful, successful applications and proposals that convey your need for grant funding Go online and find templates for request letters, executive summaries, logic models, budget summary tables, and more Open the book and find: How to connect with grant-making agencies What goes into a grant submission How to build a great funding plan An overview of the peer review process A helpful checklist to make sure all the pieces are in place How to navigate federal grant websites Compelling words to use in applications Advice on requesting matching funds and other items
Grant Seeking in Higher Education by Mary M. Licklider
Call Number: Online: NetID Required for Access
ISBN: 1282108816
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Grant funding has become increasingly crucial to universities and university faculty, even as government and private funding reductions and increased application pools result in a more and more competitive environment. Securing the funding which is available is not a simple process, and institutional support for faculty who seek grants is uneven, where it exists at all. Faculty members are often left to navigate their own ways through the shifting landscape of the grants maze. When added on top of teaching and service loads, it's no surprise that many faculty members either avoid seeking grants altogether or produce grant proposals which have little or no chance of being funded.Faculty need a guide, and this book is that guide.Written by a team of successful grant writers, "Grant Seeking in Higher Education" orients faculty to the grants culture and walks readers step-by-step through the entire grant-seeking process, from identifying sources to preparing a successful application to administering the funds after the grant is awarded. The grant-seeking toolkit--which is free online to purchasers of the book for you to download or print and use in your work--includes standard forms, templates, and timelines for proposal development so any faculty member, from the scientist to the humanities scholar, can be sure not to miss out on the funding they deserve.
How to Write a Grant Proposal by Cheryl Carter New; James Aaron Quick
Call Number: Online: UWG NetID Required for Access
ISBN: 9780471472001
Publication Date: 2003-06-03
Step-by-step guidance on how to write effective grants that get the funding you need. Complete with examples of fully-completed proposals, you'll also get an easy-to-use companion website containing guide sheets and templates that can be easily downloaded, customized, and printed. The authors provide examples of completed proposals and numerous case studies to demonstrate how the grant-seeking process typically works. Order your copy today!
Write an Effective Funding Application by Mary W. Walters
Call Number: Physical Book in Stacks: HG177 .W35 2009
ISBN: 9780801893551
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
In a world where the opportunity to advance scholarly and scientific knowledge is dependent on the ability to secure sufficient funding, researchers and scholars must write funding proposals that stand out from the competition. The practical advice in this guidebook is designed to aid academics in writing successful applications at all stages of their careers. This book will help grant applicants plan and craft funding proposals that are concise, complete, and impressive--and that satisfy the mandates of the agencies to which they are applying. Applicants will learn how to * Avoid common writing blunders * Understand the central importance of the research budget * Overcome procrastination * Choose and secure professional references * Develop a career path with a view toward funding opportunities * Maintain a winning attitude that will improve the chances of success Write an Effective Funding Application details the all-important preparation stage in drafting a grant application, from identifying sources of funding and securing registration numbers to creating a schedule for meeting the application deadline. It reviews the nuts and bolts of writing and polishing a winning application, stressing the importance of logical thinking and thoughtful presentation. The book includes detailed information on developing budgets, "before" and "after" versions of proposals, and descriptions of common pitfalls that everyone can avoid.