Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Environmental issues: Home

Resources related to the environment held by Special Collections. To contact Special Collections, email special@westga.edu or visit https://www.westga.edu/library/special-collections/index.php

Environmental issues

Archival collections

 

Bob Barr Papers, Legislative Files

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/POL-0005-12-ead.xml

Barr represented Georgia’s seventh district in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1995 to 2003. A conservative Republican, he adopted a skeptical view of environmental protection. His legislative files contain material from the mid-1990s to the early 2000s on parks and recreation in Georgia as well as water resource issues, which he used to decide his positions on bills under consideration in the House.

 

Bob Barr Papers, Office Files

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/POL-0005-15-ead.xml

Barr represented Georgia’s seventh district in the U.S. House of Representatives from 1995 to 2003. A conservative Republican, he adopted a skeptical view of environmental protection. His office files contain research material from the mid-1990s to the early 2000s on the Environmental Protection Agency, the Endangered Species Act, environmental activists, and Georgia land and water conservation. This portion of the Barr papers also contains substantial material related to energy, including energy deregulation, oil drilling, and the disposal of spent nuclear fuel.

 

Robert H. Claxton Papers

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/MS-0044-ead.xml

Claxton was a faculty member at UWG specializing in the environmental issues of Latin America, and served as coordinator for the environmental studies program from 1976 to 1980. His papers include materials related to the environmental studies program at UWG, materials related to his participation in environmental activism in the state of Georgia, and materials used in the preparation of the manuscript The History of the Georgia Conservancy, 1967-1981.

 

Friends of McIntosh Reserve Records

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/LH-0110-ead.xml

The Friends of McIntosh Reserve records document the organization’s activities regarding support and protection of the McIntosh Reserve Park in Carroll County, Georgia. Their organizational records include annual meeting agendas, chronological files of correspondence and meeting minutes, clippings, histories of people and places associated with the park, newsletters, creative works, and member files. Of particular note are histories and creative works related to Chief William McIntosh, a member of the Creek group of indigenous peoples, for whom the park is named.

 

Newt Gingrich Papers, 104th and 105th Congresses

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/POL-0001-10-ead.xml

Gingrich was a faculty member at UWG who taught in history and environmental studies, then represented Georgia’s sixth district in the U.S. House of Representatives, eventually becoming Speaker of the House. Materials from the 104th and 105th Congresses (1995-1999) include the Scott Gast files, which pertain to various national environmental issues, and the Rob Hood files, which examine the effect of transportation issues on the environment.

The Newt Gingrich papers are restricted by the terms of the donor agreement, and researchers should contact Special Collections for access instructions.

 

Newt Gingrich Papers, Miscellaneous

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/POL-0001-11-ead.xml

Gingrich was a faculty member at UWG who taught history and environmental studies, then represented Georgia’s sixth district in the U.S. House of Representatives, eventually becoming Speaker of the House. The miscellany portion of the collection includes information on national environmental issues in the mid-1990s, including the 1996 and 1997 Earth Day celebrations.

The Newt Gingrich papers are restricted by the terms of the donor agreement, and researchers should contact Special Collections for access instructions.

 

Lewis H. Larson Papers

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/MS-0017-ead.xml

Larson was a professor of anthropology at UWG, as well as the state archaeologist for Georgia from 1972-1988. His was a specialist on Etowah sites on the Georgia coast and near Cartersville in northern Georgia. He participated in the state’s Coastal Zone Management Task Force and the Georgia Heritage Trust, and the records of this participation are included in the collection. There are also materials on the developmental impact of the Richard B. Russell Dam on the Savannah River and the Wallace Dam on the Oconee River.

 

Mitch Seabaugh Papers

http://uwg.galileo.usg.edu/uwg/view?docId=ead/POL-0025-ead.xml

Seabaugh served in the Georgia State Senate from 2001 to 2011, representing the area surrounding Coweta County. His most notable achievements in office related to instituting tax credits that led to the growth of the film industry in Georgia. His papers contain material on energy issues in Georgia and the Southeast in these years, including issues related to coal, natural gas, and climate change.

 

Print materials

 

David M. Bush, Living with Florida’s Atlantic Beaches: Coastal Hazards from Amelia Island to Key West (2004)

TC224.F6 B87 2004

This book, which focuses on the environmental issues presented by the eastern coast of Florida, discusses the challenges presented by attempting to build safely along the coastline, especially in light of the hurricanes that regularly affect the Atlantic shore.

 

Robert H. Claxton, A History of the Georgia Conservancy, 1967-1981 (1985)

S932.G4 C5x

Authored by a UWG environmental studies faculty member, this book examines the history of the Georgia Conservancy, an Atlanta-based group involved in political advocacy as well as land conservation issues. The group has historically focused most intently on the environmental challenges of the Georgia coastline.

 

Newt Gingrich and Terry L. Maple, A Contract with the Earth (2007)

GE195.7 .G56 2007

Co-authored by former UWG faculty member and former Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives Newt Gingrich, this book argues that the modern environmental movement has become too radical, and that the “environmental mainstream” of the American public should seek entrepreneurial, market-based solutions to environmental challenges.

 

J.L. Locher, Mark Boyle’s Journey to the Center of the Earth (1978)

TR654 .B69 L6

This artist’s book documents the work of Mark Boyle, an artist who took bird’s eye photographs of randomly chosen landscapes on Earth, including shorelines, and juxtaposed them with close-up photographs of other surfaces, such as human skin.