This is the "Home" page of the "Music Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UWG Home Ingram Library Contact Us A-Z Index calendars Search Image Map

Music Research   Tags: musc music  

Resources and research information for music students and faculty.
Last Updated: Feb 7, 2017 URL: http://libguides.westga.edu/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

This page is designed to provide information about resources and the research process for students and faculty at the University of West Georgia in the area of music.  If you have suggestions or questions, please contact Shelley Rogers, the music liaison.

For a good explanation about the difference between primary and secondary sources, see Princeton's webpage.

Click the tabs above for more information.

 

  Major Resources Available to Help You in Your Research Efforts

These are the major library resources available to help you in your music research efforts.  Always start at the library's homepage (http://www.westga.edu/library/) to get to these resources.

Library Catalog

Ingram Library's online catalog is where you go to search for material held within the library: books, scores, recordings, videos, etc.  You can also search for journal/periodical titles, but not for specific journal articles (go to GALILEO for those).

Databases & GALILEO  

Databases are huge collections of data, each indexing hundreds or thousands of journals, and all the articles within those journals.  From the library’s homepage, left menu, click on GALILEO & Databases, then Arts and Humanities, then Music to get to a list of databases that are great for music research.  Choose a database and start searching for your research topic.

Find a Journal

If you already have a bibliographic citation for an article in a journal, use this to help you physically locate it.  On the library’s homepage, click on the Articles tab, then Find a Journal, then enter the journal’s name.  The computer will basically tell you whether UWG owns the journal or whether another University System of Georgia (USG) library owns it.  If it isn’t available, a link to Interlibrary Loan (ILL) will be provided so you can request that UWG library staff get it for you.

Research & Citation Guides

From the library’s homepage, left menu, click on Research & Citation Guides to find direction to various helps, such as how to create a bibliography in the style you need for your paper (Citation Guide).

Live Chat Help 24/7  

Ask a question and get reference assistance from one of Ingram Library's librarians through the chat service.  If it’s after normal reference hours, a librarian from another institution will help you.

Interlibrary Loan & ILLiad

The Interlibrary Loan office of the library borrows (for eligible users) research materials that are not owned by Ingram Library.  The service is restricted to currently enrolled UWG students, faculty (both active and emeritus), and staff.

ARCHE cards

ARCHE Libraries Cooperative Program provides for borrowing from the collections of other ARCHE libraries (e.g., Emory University) by the faculty, staff, and students of member institutions for the purpose of supplementing the resources of their own library.  See the librarian at the reference desk to get an ARCHE card application.

Librarian

Profile Image
Shelley Rogers, MILS, MEd.
Contact Info
Senior Cataloger &
Associate Professor

Ingram Library
University of West Georgia
1601 Maple St.
Carrollton, GA 30118
678-839-6351 (office)
678-839-6511 (fax)
Send Email
Subjects:
music
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip