- African American Funeral Programs from the East Central Georgia Regional Library
The African American Funeral Programs from the East Central Georgia Regional Library online collection consists of over one thousand funeral programs ranging from 1933 to 2008 (with the bulk of the collection beginning in the 1960s) from the Eula M. Ramsey Johnson Memorial Funeral Program Collection. A majority of the programs are from churches in Augusta, Georgia, and the surrounding area, with a few outliers in other states such as New York and Florida. The programs typically contain a photograph of the deceased, an obituary, a list of surviving relatives, and the order of service. The collection provides extensive genealogical information about the deceased, including birth and death dates, maiden names, names of relatives, past residences, and place of burial.
- Annual Reports of the Mayor of Savannah, Georgia, 1855-1917
The Annual Reports of the Mayor of Savannah, Georgia, 1855-1917 include information on city activities and finances, commercial statistics, health, death, and illness statistics, and information on trade, public schools, weather, charitable institutions and city ordinances. The documents also include reports of the City Attorney, the Police Department (including crime statistics), the City Engineer, the Fire Department (including statistics on fires and property losses), and the Board of Trade, among others. The Annual Reports of the Mayor of Savannah, 1855-1917 are from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries and were microfilmed in 1995 as part of the SOLINET/ASERL Cooperative Microfilming Project (NEH PS-20317). The images presented here were scanned from microfilm. This site currently contains only the holdings available on microfilm, but additional dates may be added in the future.
- Atlanta History Center Collections
Search Terminus to see what resources resides in the Atlanta History Center!
- Auburn Avenue Research Library Finding Aids
Update Frequency: in process Audience: General, research, student The Auburn Avenue Research Library Finding Aids database consists of guides to archival and manuscript collections held by the Auburn Avenue Research Library on African-American Culture and History, a special library of the Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System. The library's primary source materials document the experiences of African-Americans in Atlanta, the Southeastern region, and throughout the nation.
- Barnard's Photographic Views of the Sherman Campaign, 1866
Barnard's Photographic Views of the Sherman Campaign Barnard's Photographic Views of the Sherman Campaign, 1866 contains images of the 61 albumen prints found in early American photographer and member of the Matthew Brady studio, George N. Barnard's 1866 Photographic Views of Sherman's Campaign. Barnard was the official photographer for the United States Army, Chief Engineer's Office, Division of the Mississippi and accompanied Sherman's Army during the "March to the Sea" in November and December, 1864 In 1866 he returned to the South to continue documenting the war and its effects. Subjects of the photographs include Sherman and his generals, Nashville, Chattanooga Valley, Atlanta, and Savannah. The images were digitized from an 1866 Wynkoop & Hallenbeck edition owned by the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, University of Georgia.
- Civil Unrest in Camilla, Georgia, 1868 Collection
The Civil Unrest in Camilla, Georgia, 1868 collection, located at the DeSoto Trail Library and comprised of photostatic copies from the Freedman's Bureau records held by the National Archives, consists of letters, affidavits, reports and a newspaper clipping relating to a violent episode in Camilla, Georgia. The incident occurred on September 19, 1868 when freedmen, together with Republicans W.P. Pierce, John Murphy and F.F. Putney attempted to hold a political rally, and were met with opposition from the white townspeople of Camilla. The dates of the documents largely span from September 19 through October of 1868 and include correspondence between Caleb Chase Sibley, assistant commissioner for the Freedmen
- Community Art in Atlanta, 1977-1987: Jim Alexander's Photographs of the Neighborhood Arts Center from the Auburn Avenue Research Library
Coverage Dates: 1970-1982 Update Frequency: in process Community Art in Atlanta, 1977-1987 consists of fifty-five documentary photographs of the Neighborhood Arts Center (1975-1989) that capture significant African American-centered cultural and community events in and around the Atlanta-based organization, a brainchild of the late mayor Maynard Jackson. This body of images documents a visit to the Center from the legendary Romare Bearden, as well as Atlanta-area outreach projects, arts festivals, and social demonstrations that took place during the late 1970s and early 1980s. Taken by photographer, community activist, and Neighborhood Arts Center staff member Jim Alexander, these photographs demonstrate the Center's service commitment and its promotion of urban community arts. The site also contains a biography of Alexander, a brief history and chronology of the Neighborhood Arts Center, suggested readings, and a list of related links.
- Digital Library of Georgia
The Digital Library of Georgia is a gateway to Georgia's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, government documents, newspapers, maps, audio, video, and other resources. Many of the materials are from the holdings of GALILEO member institutions, and the Digital Library of Georgia continues to grow through its partnerships with libraries, archives, museums, government agencies, and allied organizations across the state. To search or browse the holdings of the Digital Library of Georgia, visit the DLG homepage at: http://dlg.galileo.usg.edu A complete listing of digital collections available through the DLG is at: http://dlg.galileo.usg.edu/CollectionsA-Z/
- For Our Mutual Benefit: The Athens Woman's Club and Social Reform, 1899-1920
For Our Mutual Benefit consists of two minute books, covering the years 1899-1920, from the Athens Woman's Club collection housed in the Heritage Room of the Athens-Clarke County Library. The minutes provide a detailed record of the educational, social, philanthropic and reform activities of the Athens Woman's Club during the height of the Progressive Era and document the relationships between the Athens Woman's Club and various other organizations of local, state and national significance such as the Georgia Federation of Women's Clubs and the General Federation of Women's Clubs. The materials help shed light on the complexity of southern progressivism, with particular regard to the social and political issues surrounding the regulation of child labor, the enforcement of compulsory school attendance and the passage of a woman's suffrage amendment.
- Georgia Aerial Photographs
The Georgia Aerial Photographs database provides online access to approximately 50,000 black and white aerial photographs and indexes of selected counties from the State of Georgia.
- Georgia Department of Archives & History
The Georgia Department of Archives and History maintains a web site of information on its organization, collections, and services. The mission of the Georgia Department of Archives and History is to identify, select, preserve, and ensure the accessibility of government and other information constituting Georgia's recorded history, including the official records of Georgia from 1732 to the present. In addition, it collects private manuscripts and photographs which complement existing archival holdings. Links to online publications, finding aids, and other web sites related to Georgia history and genealogy are provided.
- Georgia Legislative Documents 1755-
- Georgia Official and Statistical Register: "Georgia's Blue Book"
The Georgia Official and Statistical Register, published from 1923-1990 by the Georgia Department of Archives and History, is commonly known as the Georgia Blue Book. Considered an important reference work for historical research, the Register covers Georgia's executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government, providing biographical sketches of elected and other state officials. Georgia members of U.S. Congress and federal judges are included, as are county officials and regents of the university system. The Blue Books contain election returns, provide basic reference data on Georgia counties, and cover Georgia miscellany, such as the state flag, state flower, state song, rosters of Georgia governors, and legal holidays.
- Georgia State Fair, Macon, 1886-1960
The Georgia State Fair, Macon, 1886-1960 online collection consists of 151 black-and-white photographs, and four advertising fliers, from the Georgia State Fair records held by the Middle Georgia Archives at the Macon-Bibb County Public Libraries. These photographs document the evolution of the state fair in Macon from 1886 until 1960. A group portrait of the executive committee of the Georgia State Agricultural Society is the earliest piece in the collection. The majority of the photographs depict county agricultural exhibits whose function was to promote a variety of farm produce and homemade items.
- Georgia's Virtual Vault
provides virtual access to historic Georgia manuscripts, photographs, maps, and government records housed in the state archives.
- High Museum Folk Art Collection
- Historic Architecture and Landscapes of Georgia: The Hubert Bond Owens and John Linley Image Collections at the Owens Library
a joint project between the College of Environment and Design, University of Georgia and the Digital Library of Georgia, contains approximately 1500 images of important and representative architectural sites and landscapes in the state with an emphasis on Athens and Middle Georgia. The collections, held at the Owens Library in the College of Environment and Design at the University of Georgia, consist of color slides and black and white photographs taken from the 1940s through the 1980s
- Joseph Henry Lumpkin Family Papers
The digitized selections from the Joseph Henry Lumpkin Family Papers consist of letters dated 1850-1861 (the bulk of which are from 1852-1856) to Callie Lumpkin King, wife of Alabama lawyer and plantation owner Porter King and daughter of Joseph Henry Lumpkin. Correspondents include Sallie (Baxter) Bird, wife of Hancock County plantation-owner Edgeworth Bird; King's husband Porter; Thomas Read Rootes Cobb, her brother-in-law; and other Lumpkin family members. The letters touch on family life, local and national politics, marriage, and the social life in Athens, Georgia. Eventually, the site will include images and transcribed text for the Alexander Campbell King Law Library, University of Georgia School of Law's collection of Joseph Henry Lumpkin Family Papers collection on deposit at the Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.
- Robert E. Williams Photographic Collection: African-Americans in the Augusta, Ga. Vicinity (Richmond Co.), circa 1872-1898
Robert E. Williams Photographic Collection: African-Americans in the Augusta, Ga. Vicinity (Richmond Co.) consists of 86 glass plate negatives and positive prints of African-Americans in the Augusta, Richmond County, Georgia area. Robert E. Williams, an African-American photographer, operated a studio, R. Williams and Son, in Augusta, Georgia, from 1888 until around 1908. The photographs depict dwellings and domestic chores, rituals of baptism, harvesting and transporting cotton, vehicles and transportation, and children and family life. Eighty-four of the images are presented online, as two of the negatives are copies
- Robert Toombs, Letters to Julia Ann DuBose Toombs, 1850-1867
Robert Toombs, Letters to Julia Ann DuBose Toombs consists of correspondence from Robert Toombs to his wife, Julia Ann DuBose Toombs in Washington, Wilkes County, Georgia from 1850-1867. During 1850-1859 his letters come from Washington, D.C. while he served in the U.S. Senate. During the Civil War, he wrote from Virginia (1862) and Atlanta, Georgia (1864). Following the war, letters are written from Paris (1866-67) while he was in exile. The correspondence generally discusses current events; his land holdings in South Georgia, Alabama, and Texas; people; other soldiers; and his wish to be with his wife and family.
- Samuel Hugh Hawkins Diary, January - July 1877
The Samuel Hugh Hawkins Diary, January - July 1877, donated by Georgia State Senator George Hooks to the Lake Blackshear Regional Library System, chronicles Americus, Georgia entrepreneur, lawyer, and banker Samuel Hawkins' financial, agricultural, civic, and religious activities in Sumter County during the final months of Reconstruction.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for Georgia 1867-1970
- Southeastern Native American Documents 1730-1842
contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States
- Vanishing Georgia
Nearly 18,000 historic photographs from private collections
- War of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas
A collection of documents from the National Archives and the U.S. Department of State Library dealing with private armed vessels used during the War of 1812. Documents include correspondence concerning letters of marque for privateers, agreements for the exchange of prisoners of war, passenger lists of vessels sailing from the U.S., and intercepted correspondence. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1814 (with some documents from 1789-1807).
- Women's Issues and Their Advocacy Within the White House, 1974-1977
The progression of women’s rights through documents presented to President Ford from The Special Assistant to the President for Women. Meeting minutes, briefing papers, correspondence, talking points, speeches, news clippings, etc. An Archives Unbound database. Coverage: 1974-1977.