This is the "Home" page of the "Circulation Policy - Faculty" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UWG Home Ingram Library Contact Us A-Z Index calendars Search Image Map

Circulation Policy - Faculty   Tags: faculty  

Last Updated: Dec 13, 2016 URL: http://libguides.westga.edu/fac-circ-pol Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Faculty Circulation Policy

Circulation Policies: Faculty
Ingram Library
A. Borrowing privileges:
The faculty, emeriti faculty, and staff of the University of West Georgia have full privileges; however, only the faculty may retain circulating items (except videos, music CDs and tapes) for the duration of the academic year. However, if an item has been recalled by another user, and the faculty member has had the use of it for at least 28 days, s/he must return it within 7 calendar days from the date on the notification. Faculty members who fail to return recalled materials within the time allotted will be charged $1.00 per day for those items. (See Section B below for loan periods applying to periodicals, videos, music CDs, reference materials, etc.)

All library materials borrowed by faculty must be returned or renewed at the end of each academic year, no later than the Spring Graduation Day. Items which a faculty member needs to keep longer than this may be renewed: however, the materials must be brought into the Library for renewal during the final two weeks of the term--they may not be renewed over the phone. Items not returned or renewed by the May Graduation Day will be considered delinquent and the user's record will be suspended (meaning that no further charges are possible) until such materials are returned/renewed. All other Library privileges will also be suspended, except that suspended faculty members will at all times be allowed to place materials on Reserve for student use. Sixty (60) calendar days from the date on which a faculty or staff member's borrowing privileges become suspended due to non-return of Library materials, notification of items overdue will be sent to the individual's Dean or cost center supervisor. If the materials have not been returned after 30 additional calendar days have elapsed, they will be considered LOST, and a bill for the replacement cost of the items, including a processing fee, will be forwarded to the Business Office. The amount due will then be deducted from the individual's next scheduled paycheck and credited to the Library's account. The cost of any items which are returned within 30 days after the paycheck deduction has occurred will be reimbursed through the Business Office (minus the processing fee, which is not refundable).

Neither faculty nor staff will be charged overdue fines except for overdue Reference Books OR recalled materials which have not been returned within 7 calendar days from the date on the notification OR Inter-Library Loans not returned by the date due on the book label (see below). Fines for overdue Reference materials, recalled items and ILLs are $1.00 per day. Fines for recalled materials begin accruing on the 8th day after the date on the notification; fines for ILLs begin accruing on the 1st day after the due date on the book label. All patrons are expected to pay for lost or damaged material.

Most communications from the Library are sent via email to your official UWG email address; therefore, it is incumbent upon you to check your UWG email regularly. Failure to receive notices does not absolve you from responsibility for responding promptly to recalls or paying all charges assessed to your account.

Faculty and staff ID cards are non-transferable, and may not be loaned to students* or family members for the purpose of borrowing materials or using library facilities. Family members must obtain ID cards in their own name and with their own ID number.

*if necessary, a faculty member may grant permission to a graduate assistant to check out library materials on his/her i.d. See Appendices A for the checkout agreement form. New forms must be filled out in paper and returned with faculty signatures for each term. Faculty members are encouraged to periodically review their own Library records in order to see what materials are currently charged to their accounts.

During any period when a faculty or staff member is enrolled in a course, s/he is ethically bound to abide by student circulation periods for any materials which are checked out of the Library in support of his/her coursework. If any faculty or staff member abuses his/her privileges in a manner which negatively impacts fellow classmates, the Library will revoke faculty/staff privileges for the period during which the faculty or staff member is enrolled as a student.

Students enrolled in courses on or off campus have full library privileges. (See Section B below for loan periods and fine policies.)

Members of faculty and staff families have the same borrowing privileges as Guest Borrowers and are expected to return all materials by their due date. Standard fine policies will apply to these patrons. Additionally, they are required to check out all items in their own names, not in the name of the family member employed by the University of West Georgia; therefore, they are required to either apply for a Guest Borrower's card at the Circulation Desk in Ingram Library, or obtain a new UWG ID card with their own ID number on it. (See Section B below for loan periods and fine policies.)

Retired faculty and retired staff have library privileges; however, some services are unavailable to them, such as remote access to GALILEO and UWG-provided online databases, Inter-Library Loan, and any services requiring an account number. The lending and fine policies which apply to currently enrolled students will apply to these users. A retired faculty member who is still engaged in a scholarly research project may be granted a longer loan period (6 months instead of 28 days) upon application to the Library Director. To apply, s/he must write a letter of request to the Director, describing the research project and specifying the date by which the project will be completed. If the request is granted, the individual is required to adhere strictly to the regulations regarding prompt return of recalled materials for other users.

Faculty and staff who resign may apply for Guest Borrower status.

Graduate students: Graduate students have a longer loan period than undergraduates, and may check out regular materials until the end of the current academic term instead of the usual 28 days, in recognition of their frequent need to be involved in more extended research activities. However, if an item has been recalled by another user, and the Graduate student has had the use of it for at least 28 days, s/he must return it within 7 calendar days from the date on the notification. Graduate students who fail to return recalled materials within the time allotted will be charged $1.00 per day for those items. (See Section B below for loan periods and fine schedules.)

Graduate students who are not currently enrolled in classes at UWG retain full borrowing privileges until they reach 3 consecutive semesters (12 months) without enrolling. This will allow those students time to complete a thesis or Ed.S research project. 

Doctoral students enrolled in the joint UWG-UGA program will be granted most library privileges, including ILL service and reciprocal borrowing privileges at other USG libraries, provided their major professors forward the students' names, addresses and ID numbers to the Registrar's Office, with a copy to the Ingram Library Circulation Department, each academic term. Contracted services will be available only during those terms in which students are registered at the University of West Georgia; however, similar services may be obtained from cooperating institutions if students are enrolled there. As with all other students, joint-enrolled students must present a valid UWG ID card if they wish to check out library materials.

 

B. Loan periods and Fines:
Fines are assessed to insure prompt return of materials; there is no minimum fine or grace period. As previously noted, faculty/staff are exempt from fines except for Reference Books and recalled items that are not returned promptly. The chart which follows details the standard loan periods and fines which apply to faculty.
 

 
C. Reserve Materials:
Professors may sometimes wish to place materials,* including their own personal copies, on reserve for their students' use. Generally, all required readings should be put on reserve in order to ensure equitable access. This may be done at any time during an academic term, but a minimum of 3 days must be allowed for processing. Titles from reading lists and recommended supplemental readings should remain in the open stacks unless they are personal copies, in which case it is advisable, for security and convenience, to put these on reserve also. The library may limit the amount of material placed on reserve for a class. Experience and usage figures show that a moderate number of reserve items is usually sufficient. In all cases, copyright regulations must be observed. (Even though a faculty member's borrowing privileges may be suspended, s/he will still be allowed to place materials on reserve, in order that his/her students may not be disadvantaged).

All reserve services are handled through the Circulation Department. Learn more about how to make a Reserve Requests here. Requests should be submitted at least one week before classes start whenever possible. An early request allows the Library to transfer the materials from the circulating collection before reading assignments are made. Complete bibliographic citations must be entered for each item.

Unless otherwise specified by the professor, reserve items are retained on reserve until the end of the current academic term and are automatically removed and returned to the circulating collection (or if a personal copy, to the faculty member) at that time.

*Items owned by the Library which may NOT be placed on Reserve: any materials which are already limited to in-building use, e.g., periodicals and materials in Reference and Special Collections. Since these items are already restricted from circulating outside the Library, there is no justification for placing them on Reserve, where other users would not think to look for them.

 

D. Reference Materials & Periodicals:
The Reference Collection (which includes Periodicals) is a core collection of materials which provide immediate and succinct information to users, or a link to in-depth and complex sources. In order to serve the greatest number, these materials must remain readily available. Therefore, Reference materials and periodicals circulate only under the following conditions: item is required for class presentation, or the material must be copied, scanned or used to make slides/ transparencies which can only be done elsewhere. The loan period is one day with no renewals. The overdue charge, per item, is $5.00 per day, maximum $25.00; if material is still not returned after 5 days, the patron will be barred until item is returned and fine paid. This policy applies to all users, including faculty and staff.

 

 

 


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip