This is the "Home" page of the "ENGL 1101 - McKee" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UWG Home Ingram Library Contact Us A-Z Index calendars Search Image Map

ENGL 1101 - McKee  

Last Updated: Aug 31, 2016 URL: http://libguides.westga.edu/content.php?pid=701027 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ENGL 1101 Research Guide (McKee)

This guide includes links to newspaper resources and guidance for completing your STEAM ENGL 1101 Newspaper Reading Journal.  

General Instructions:

Reading Journal for Newspaper Articles & Presentation (Part B):  In addition to assigned journal entries (as noted above) for, to deepen your daily reading skills while broadening your knowledge of current issues, especially in STEM fields, most Mondays, a newspaper reading journal entry is due for 1-2 articles from the NYTimes.com (in other words, you’ll write one entry for each article). Your final essay (30% of overall grade) will build directly from this semester-long newspaper reading practice and accumulated journal entries. So, it’s important to take this work seriously each week.

  •  ONE of these two articles must be from the followings sections of the newspaper (Tech, Science, Health).
  •  Your second entry (if one is due; see Course Schedule each week) may be from any section of the newspaper. Please avoid Sports and Entertainment articles, however. 
  • Generally, articles should be from the previous 7 days (I.e. for a Monday, Aug. 29 due date, the articles you respond to need to have been published/posted between Aug. 22-28.)
  • For each entry, follow the reading journal guidelines (one paragraph summary and one paragraph analytic response for each article; see below)
  • Post your entries to the relevant weekly dropbox; PLEASE PROOFREAD FOR GRAMMAR & SPELLING BEFORE SUBMITTING
  • These are informal assignments. Though you should always aim to carefully practice the writing skills we cover in class, I also want you to use these entries as a place to explore new ideas and topics, even if the ideas get a bit messy. Explore! Be curious!! Ask questions! Consider the possbilities. 

What to write for your entry?

You have a lot of autonony here, both in choosing which articles you write on AND what you choose to write about. Let your personal intellectual interests guide you! 

Each reading journal entry should include a minimum of two well-developed paragraphs (for each article) to include: 

1) 1 paragraph of summary (neutral overview of the writer’s central argument and supporting points in your own words) 

2) 1 paragraph of reader response and critical engagement with the ideas, issues, arguments presented in the article. 

3) If you want to write more than 2 paragraphs, GO FOR IT!

 

 

Reading Tips

Newspapers (U.S. + world, contemporary)

  • Newspaper Source
    Full text for 35 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and The Times (London), The Toronto Star.
  • Newspapers at ProQuest
    Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources. Includes 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers, including the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Atlanta Journal Constitution, Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.
  • New York TimesProQuest Newspapers
    The New York Times is included in the ProQuest Newspapers database but can be searched as a separate resource. To browse The New York Times issue by issue, click on the Publications link then select the year and issue.
  • NewsBank Access World News
    A comprehensive collection of global newspapers in full-text. This fully searchable resource features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one Searchable news video clips and over a thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English.
  • New York Times (limited access)

English Librarian

Profile Image
Andrea Baer
Contact Info
Send Email
Subjects:
English, German
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip