Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UWG Library Home UWG Library Catalog UWG Library Databases GALILEO UWG Library Journal Locator UWG Library Requests University of West Georgia Home UWG Banweb myUWG Portal UWG WebCT Vista

Admin Sign In 

Music Research Guide 

Resources and research information for music students and faculty.
Last update: Jun 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.westga.edu/music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Introduction

Articles in periodicals (newspapers, popular magazines, and scholarly journals) will be part of your research.  Unlike books,  periodicals in which articles appear are published more frequently than books making articles essential in current topics and the sciences.  Although articles in scholarly journals can be quite lengthy, articles are generally shorter than books, which means articles may cover very focused aspects of a topic. 

If you are looking for an article on a topic, use the databases or indexes. 

If you are looking for a particular article and you know the name of the periodical in which the article can be found, use the Journal Locator.

Any article not available through the services above can be requested via ILLIAD.

 

Indexes and Databases

For most lower level, non-professional research, a general database such as Academic Search Complete will cover most of what you need, including the basics of a topic and the latest developments.  When researching more scholarly, higher level research,  you will want to use our subject specific databases.  Try searching in a database that covers only the fields in which you are interested.  Music databases and indexes are listed below.  The list also includes databases indexes that may provide related, supporting information to your research. 

Use indexes and databases to find journal articles about music topics, especially for current or smaller topics that may not have an entire book written about them. You can also use an index or database to locate reviews of performances or sound recordings that might not be owned by Ingram Library.

Indexes in paper format are shelved on the Main Floor of the Library in the Reference Area. Online databases, some useful to music research listed below, can be found on the Library's Databases page or through GALILEO. To access databases from off-campus, you will need the GALILEO password. Please refer to the following Web page for information on how to access the current password: http://www.westga.edu/~library/password/.

Music Specific Databases and Indexes

Classical Music Library -- Classical Music Library is the world's first classical music listening service for libraries. Our growing collection of 30,000-plus tracks for listening and searching is supplemented by extensive reference materials and backed by a powerful suite of tools designed for librarians and educators.

Grove Music Online -- The full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz .

The Music Index. 1949 -- Index Area ML118 .M84 A comprehensive guide to music periodical literature from over 350 journals covering the area of musicology, world music, history of music, musical instruments, computer music, book reviews, discographies, performance reviews & sound recording reviews. The Music Index is located on the Main Floor of Ingram Library in the Periodical Indexes section. 


Biographical Indexes 

Biography Index -- (CT100 .B56x  Index Area Main Floor)  Provides reference to more than 3,000 periodicals and more than 1,800 books. Included are individual and collective biographies, juvenile literature, newspaper obituaries, and references to other printed materials on both historical and current figures. Biography Index is located on the Main Floor of Ingram Library in the Periodical Indexes section.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index -- (CT100 .B5x  Index Area Main Floor)  A comprehensive index to more than 12 million biographical sketches of contemporary and historical figures throughout the world. Biography & Genealogy Master Index is located on the Main Floor of Ingram Library in the Periodical Indexes section.

Education Databases

Education Complete at ProQuest -- Find comprehensive education periodical coverage including primary, secondary, and university-level topics. Also includes the indexing and abstracts from H.W. Wilson's highly regarded Education Abstracts.

ERIC at EBSCOhost -- Educational Resources Information Center. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice, including helpful research in the field of music education.

Professional Development Collection - Education at EBSCOhost -- Designed for professional educators, provides a specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, including more than 300 peer-reviewed titles. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. Includes, indexing and abstracts for more than 800 journals.

 

Other Databases & Indexes

Academic Search Premier -- General periodical index covering approximately 3,000 periodicals from which 1,000 are provided in full-text. Users may perform both keyword and subject searches and can restrict searches to pull only peer reviewed articles.

American Film Institute Catalog -- Offers over 47,760 film records with detailed subject and music indexing, plot summaries and production notes. In addition, over 1,000 revised film entries are included. These film records have been updated with current information on new film and television adaptations of older films, the latest news on persons in the film records, additions to silent film records from new research findings, and other relevant film industry news.

American Periodicals Series (APS) Online -- Over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and many other historically-significant periodicals. aka APS Online. 

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800) -- Definitive resource for information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable.

Humanities Index -- (AI3 .H85  Index Area Main Floor) Provides citations to periodical articles on the humanities. Subject areas covered include archaeology and classical studies, folklore, history, language, literature, performing arts, philosophy, religion and theology. Humanities Index is located on the Main Floor of Ingram Library in the Periodical Indexes section.

Ingram Library's Databases Page -- Access to all subject specific and multidisciplianary databases available through Ingram Library, including those from GALILEO.

International Bibliography of Theater and Dance -- IBTD expands on the 16-year coverage of its multi-volume predecessor with an additional 100,000 articles, essays and book chapters mined from internationally selected publications in drama, dance, media, mime, mixed entertainment, storytelling, music-drama, and puppetry. IBTD is a research tool for university theater and language departments, theater organizations, primary schools, social scientists and professionals within the field.

JSTOR -- Includes full back runs of four journals that began publication in the 19th century: Archiv für Musikwissenschaft (1899); Journal of the Royal Musical Association (1874); The Musical Times (1844); and Tijdschrift van de Koninklijke Vereniging voor nederlandse Muziekgeschiedenis (1869) as well as the most significant 20th century music journals. Click HERE for a full list of titles.

Multi-Subject Resources -- Be sure to check these. Ingram Library Resources that cover numerous subject areas.

Oxford African American Studies Center -- The Oxford AASC combines the authority of carefully edited reference works with sophisticated technology to create the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.

Project Muse -- Contains full text artilcles in approximately 200 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Click HERE for a full list of titles.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature -- ( AI3 .R48 Index Area Main Floor)  Identifies articles from the popular press. Magazines such as Time, Newsweek, etc. are included. The Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature is located on the Main Floor of Ingram Library in the Periodical Indexes section.

Voice of the Shuttle -- A comprehensive site of authoritative links for art, music, history, literature, philosophy, and all humanities-related fields of interest.

 Any article not immediately available through these databases or in print at the library (use the Journal Locator) can be requested via ILLIAD.

 

 

Professor and Instruction Librarian

Profile ImageShirley Lankford, MLS, M.Ed.
Contact Info:
Office #218 Ingram Library
University of West Georgia
Carrollton GA 30118
678.839.6358
Send Email

Subjects:
Counseling/Educational Psychology, Music

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait