Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UWG Library Home UWG Library Catalog UWG Library Databases GALILEO UWG Library Journal Locator UWG Library Requests University of West Georgia Home UWG Banweb myUWG Portal UWG WebCT Vista

Admin Sign In 

Music Research Guide 

Resources and research information for music students and faculty.
Last update: Jun 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.westga.edu/music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Books             Print Page
  
 

Introduction

Books may be useful in your research.  You may find an entire book on your topic or you may find only a portion of a book that is relevant to your research.

Books are available:

1.  locally in Ingram Library.  These books are listed in the Catalog; 

2.  from the other 35 University System of Georgia libraries via the Universal Catalog. Find the book you want and click "GIL Express Request" at the top of the page;

3.  from other academic libraries through interlibrary loan.  These books can be requested via ILLIAD; and

4.  electronically from netLibrary.

To locate books on your research topic, use databases and/or indexes.  Typically, databases are electronic and indexes are print (paper).  However, you may find the terms used interchangeable sometimes.  The important thing to remember is the purpose of databases and indexes is to help you find (identify) information on your topic.  Specific databases used for locating books on a topic and specific books available to you, either electronically or within Ingram Library, are listed below.

     

 

Book Databases and Indexes

GIL (Ingram Library's Online Catalog), is where you go to search for material held within Ingram Library. Generally, this material will be books, but we also have videos, records, CD's, etc. You can also search for journal/periodical titles, BUT NOT FOR SPECIFIC JOURNAL ARTICLES.

 

GIL Universal Catalog allows the user to search the holdings of all University System of Georgia (UWG) university libraries. Materials located in the Universal Catalog may be requested through GIL Express for transfer to UWG.

 

netLibrary is a database of books available electronically.

 

WorldCat Catalog of books, music scores, videos, and other materials held by libraries worldwide.

 

Books Available in Ingram Library or Electronically

Ingram Library has a number of books that may be useful to you. The following list of books, with call numbers, include reference books (cannot be checked out) located on the main floor of the Library, electronic books (can be checked out and read online), and circulating books (books that can be checked out) located on the main, second, and third floors of the Library.  Call numbers for reference books are preceded by "Ref." and call numbers for electronic books are preceded by "[computer file]." 

 

Advocacy

Action Kit for Music Education -- (MT3 .U5 T35 1992Materials for campaigning to convince school leaders and parents that a balanced, sequential, high-quality school music program is essential for all children.

Teacher's Guide for Advocacy: Using the Action Kit for Music Education to Build Community Support -- (MT3 .U5 T35 1992) "Designed to assist the user in becoming an effective music advocate. Contains the tools needed to bring parents, teachers, administrators, and local officials to a common understanding of music educations essential role, and to encourage them to support a full, balanced, sequential course of music instruction taught by qualified teachers."

Band Music

Band Music Guide : Alphabetical Listing of Titles and Composers of All Band Music 8th ed. -- Ref ML 128 .B23 B4 1982

Best Music for High School Band : A Selective Repertoire Guide for High School Bands & Wind Ensembles -- ML132 .B3 D8 1993 

The Director's Guide to Contest and Festival Music -- Ref ML 132 .A2 D57X 1995 

Guides to Band Masterworks -- MT 125 .G35X 1992

Guide to Score Study for the Wind Band Conductor -- MT 85 .B25 1990

History and Literature of the Wind Band and Wind Ensemble -- ML1300 .W56 1982

Wind Ensemble and its Repertoire: Essays on the Fortieth Anniversary of the Eastman Wind Ensemble -- ML1300 .W58 1994

Wind Ensemble/Band Repertoire -- ML128 .B23 W34X 1984

Wind Ensemble Catalog -- Ref ML128.W5 G52 1998

Wind Ensemble in Today's School [videorecording] -- MT73 .W56X 1980 

Bibliographies

A Bibliography of Source Readings in Music Education -- Ref ML 128 .K64 K36 1997  Contains titles of books, journals, and standardized tests in music; reviews of journals; and chapters of edited books.

Literature of Jazz: A Critical Guide. 2d ed., rev. -- Ref ML128 .J3 K45 1980 

 

Career Sources

Choosing a Career in Music [computer file] -- (ML3790 .G515 1999) Available as an E-book through netLibrary. Offers an overview of careers in the field of music, from singing to songwriting to recording.

Great Jobs for Music Majors [computer file] -- (ML3705 .G74 1997) Available as an E-book through netLibrary. Provides information on career paths for music majors as well as guidance in how to conduct a job search in the path of your choice. 

Opportunities in Entertainment Careers [computer file] -- (PN1580 .G5688 1999) Provides information for job seekers on getting started, obtaining training, education, advancement, salaries, job responsibilities, and more. 

The Touring Musician: A Small-business Approach to Booking Your Band on the Road -- (ML3795 .G245 2000)  Guides musicians in applying sound business practices to band travel by evaluating assets; creating an action plan; researching, negotiating, and booking venues; arranging transportation and lodgings; managing personal and tour finances; and getting publicity.

 

Choral Music

Avant-garde Choral Music: An Annotated Selected Bibliography -- ML 128 .V6 M4 1977

Choral Music in Print -- ML 128 .V7 C56  -- V. 1 & 2 and Suppl.

Choral Singer's Companion -- MT875 .C68 1987 

Handbook of Choral Music Selection, Score Preparation and Writing -- ML1500 .M6 1979

Literature of Jazz: A Critical Guide. 2d ed., rev. -- Ref ML128 .J3 K45 1980 

Original Music for Men's Voices: A Selected Bibliography 2nd ed. -- Ref ML 128 .V7 T66 1981

Sacred Choral Music in Print -- Ref ML 128 .V7 N32 1981 

Twentieth-Century Choral Music: An Annotated Bibliography of Music Suitable for Use by High School Choirs -- Ref ML 128 .C48 W53 1982 

 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias 

Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians -- (Ref ML105 .B16) "Nicolas Slonimsky's venerable single-volume reference is now a six-volume set, with better page layout and typeface, and a subject range outside its traditional concentration on classical music. Under new editorship since Slonimsky's death in 1995, coverage has expanded to over 1,000 new entries on classical music and over 2,000 new entries on jazz and popular music. Nice features include reprints of Slonimsky's witty introductions to earlier editions and indexes for genre, nationality, and women composers and musicians."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2002.

Complete Encyclopedia of Popular Music and Jazz, 1900-1950 -- Ref ML102 .P66 K55 1974 

Dictionary of Music Titles -- (Ref ML102 .T58 R66 2000) "This dictionary collects 3,500 titles of musical compositions and the histories of their creation. It includes symphonies, operas, oratorios, ballets, orchestral and choral works, chamber music, keyboard compositions, and songs ranging from the popular to the obscure. Titles are arranged alphabetically by most common form, English or other language (with French, German, Italian and Spanish titles usually given in those languages). Each entry includes alternate and non-English language versions of the title where appropriate, the composer's name, date of composition and first performance, opus number, a factual description of the work, and the origin of the title or any story behind it" (booknews.com).

Dictionary of Musical Themes -- Ref ML 128 I65 B3 1979)  Contains the first note entries of more than 10,000 orchestral pieces. The notation index is based on the key C major or C minor. If you can read music, you can use this volume to identify melodies that occur in classical compositions.

Encyclopedia of Jazz -- Ref ML3561 .J3 E55 1960

Dictionary of Percussion Terms -- (Ref ML102.P4 L36x 2000) Contains an alphabetical listing of terms found in the classical symphonic repertoire. Terms used in English, French, Italian, German, Japanese, African, Spanish, Latin American, Polish, Dutch, Danish and Russian works are included. There are sections devoted to standard abbreviations, phrases from famous symphonic, choral and operatic works and an appendix for mallet instrument ranges.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music -- (Ref ML100 .G16 1998)  This 10-volume set provides a thorough guide to world music, contributing to knowledge of the world's heritage and musical knowledge. Each volume includes an overview of the region, a survey of its musical heritage, traditions and themes; and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances.

Jazz: the Essential Companion -- Ref ML 102 .J3 C32 1988 

Language of Twentieth Century Music: A Dictionary of Terms -- (Ref. ML100 .F55)  Presents the basic terminologies of chance music, computer music, electronic music, film music, jazz, musique concrète, multimedia rock, twelve-tone music and other more traditional styles of composition, as well as descriptions of instruments and performance practices specific to twentieth-century music performance practice.

Medieval Music: The Sixth Liberal Art / Andrew Hughes -- (Ref. ML114 .H8)

New Grove Dictionary of American Music -- (Ref ML 101. U6 N48 1986)  Covers American music and musicians broadly considered, with concise articles summarizing works for lesser known persons, and broad, illustrated pieces with works lists and lengthy bibliographies for well-known persons.

New Grove Dictionary of Jazz. 1st ed. -- Ref ML102 .J3 N48 2002 

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians -- (Ref ML 100 .N48) In 29 volumes, includes 29,000 articles, over 20,000 biographies, over 10,000 cross-references, over 5,000 illustrations, & articles by over 6,000 of the world's leading music scholars.

New Grove Dictionary of Opera -- (Ref ML102 .O6 N5 1992)  4 volumes. Includes composers, singers (with numerous but brief entries), conductors, poets, stage designers, producers, directors, dancers, managers, patrons, impresarios, etc. Also, entries on opera houses, terminology, opera traditions, etc. are included. 1300 contributors, signed articles.

New Harvard Dictionary of Music -- (Ref ML100 .R3 2003) Contains nearly 6000 entries, authored by over 70 top musicologists. Provides compact information for all periods in music history. The core biographical material covers over 2,000 composers from the Middle Ages to the present. Descriptions of the composers' work is presented, with lists of principal compositions. Also includes: descriptions of instruments used in western music, as well as instruments from other parts of the world; definitions of musical terms; cross-referencing to other entries in the dictionary; 12 pages of illustrations and over 100 musical examples.

New Norton/Grove Dictionary of Women Composers -- (Ref ML105 .N66 1994) "Chronicles the lives and works of 875 women composers of Western classical music. Most entries in this Dictionary include a detailed biography, an evaluation of the subject's music and her career, and a comprehensive list of her published and unpublished works."

Oxford History of Western Music / Richard Taruskin -- (Ref. ML160 .T18 2005) "The Oxford History of Western Music provides a critical aesthetic position with respect to individual works, a context in which each composition may be evaluated and remembered. Taruskin combines an emphasis on structure and form with a discussion of relevant theoretical concepts in each age, to illustrate how the music itself works, and how contemporaries heard and understood it. It also describes how the context of each stylistic period-key cultural, historical, social, economic, and scientific events-influenced and directed compositional choices." -- Oxford University Press.

Who's Who of Jazz: Storyville to Swing Street 4th ed. -- Ref ML 106 .U3 C5 1985

Women and Music in America Since 1900: An Encyclopedia -- (Ref ML82 .W625 2002)  "This two-volume reference set describes the role of women in all types of music in the U.S. since 1900. The alphabetically-arranged entries cover important individuals (chosen for the significance of their contributions rather than for their popularity), biographical overviews, gender issues, education, music genres, honors and awards, organizations and professions. Entries (ranging from half a page to several pages in length) conclude with a short list of further readings, and about 100 are accompanied by a b&w photograph. A historical overview and a chronology are also included."

 

Guides & Handbooks

All Music Guide to Jazz -- Ref ML156.4 .J3 A45 1998 

Complete Guide to Instrumental Jazz Instruction: Techniques for Developing a Successful School Jazz Program -- MT86 .K9 1984 

Guide to Classic Recorded Jazz -- ML156.4 .J3 P53 1995 

Jazz Arranging and Performance Practice: A Guide for Small Ensembles -- MT86 .R66 1989 

Jazz Pedagogy: A Comprehensive Method of Jazz Education for Teacher and Student -- MT68 .B28X 1979 

Rolling Stone Jazz & Blues Album Guide -- Ref ML156.4 .J3 R65 1999 

Guide to Research in Music Education -- (MT1 .P5 1993)  A guide for the writer of research in music education, including how to develop a topic; how to conduct research; techniques associated with the various research methodologies. Aimed at the graduate student in music education.

High School Music Teacher's Handbook: A Complete Guide to Managing and Teaching the Total Music Program -- (MT10 .K48 1987) A guide to implementing and administering all aspects of the high school music program.

Music Teacher's Survival Guide -- (MT 1 .H22 1994) Provides tested timesavers & problem-solvers to help K-8 music teachers in every aspect of their job -- from instrumental, choral, & general music instruction to classroom organization, management, & discipline.

Research in Music Education: An Introduction to Systematic Inquiry --(MT1 .R26 1987) Covers all aspects of research and the research process, including the role of research in music education, finding a research topic, modes of inquiry, approaches to empirical iquiry, measurement tools and the writing task in research.

Instrument Sources

Encyclopedia of the Piano -- (Ref ML102 .P5 E53 1996)  Includes over 600 alphabetically-arranged articles covering artisans, composers, events, companies, instrument construction, culture and history, research discoveries, and future trends.

Musical Instruments of the World: An Illustrated Encyclopedia -- (Ref ML102 .I5 D5 1976) Showcases the development of musical instruments from from primitive whistles to electric guitars. Includes information on orchestral, popular, classical, ancient, and folk instruments. Classed by family groups, they are cross-referenced with material on geographical distribution and historical periods.

Oxford Companion to Musical Instruments -- (Ref ML102 .I5 B34 1992)  Alphabetical guide to Western and non-Western acoustic musical instruments (electric and electronic instruments are not included). Each entry offers a description of the instrument, as well as information on as playing techniques, harmonics and circular breathing, the sound of an instrument, acoustics, pitch, an instrument's use within the orchestral repertoire or, for ethnomusicological instruments, within ritual, and significant developments in its history."

Practical Percussion: A Guide to the Instruments and Their Sources -- (Ref ML1030 .H65 2003)  An illustrated encyclopedia of more than two hundred percussion instruments. Each instrument's physical, musical, and historical attributes are described. Additional sections focus on writing and publishing music for percussion instruments, percussion education, the Percussive Arts Society, the percussion soloist, and manufacturers and distributors of percussion instruments. A list of works for percussion is included, with required players and instruments.

 

Literature & Bibliographic Sources

Bibliographic Guide to Music -- (Ref ML136 .N5 N5732) Produced from cataloging information by the New York Public Library and the Library of Congress. This catalog and its supplements reproduce the catalog cards for music books and scores of one of the largest music research libraries in the United States. It is most useful in identifying publication information for material not owned by UWG. Once you know who published an item and when, you can more easily find out if the item is currently available for purchase or on inter-library loan, even though the New York Public Library itself does not loan material. It is also possible to scan a particular subject heading and learn of items which might otherwise not be discovered.

A Basic Music Library: Essential Scores and Sound Recordings -- (Ref ML113 .B3 1997) Although a number of its listings are now out of print, it's still useful as a guide to popular artists and classical works.

Collected Editions, Historical Series and Sets and Monuments of Music -- (Ref ML113 .H55 1997) Useful in indentifying bibliographies of collected sets. Entries are by composer, as are sets. Cross references within the entry are noted. Entries have complete bibliographies. Major composers have extended series listings. Each entry shows what is contained in that catalog. Works are listed only by the first composer in the collection.

Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire -- (Ref ML128 .P3 H5 1987) An alphabetical listing by composer's name of selected piano music of some 1,800 composers. Each entry includes the publisher(s) of the piece, the number of pages, the performance time, a description of the style and any individual characteristics, and the level of difficulty.

Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music 3rd ed. -- (Ref ML113 .H52 1980) Lists the contents and bibliographical information for the complete editions of the music of individual composers and the major collections of music; vol. 1 contains text, vol.2, index; 1300 entries.

Sacred Choral Music in Print -- (Ref ML128 .V7 N32)  A listing of published sacred choral music. Each entry offers the following information, as available from the publisher's catalog: title and translated title, composer and arranger or editor, instrumentation, language, publisher, duration, publisher's number, contents of collections, and additional remarks. Entries in the two main volumes and in the supplements are arranged by composer; if you look up a title, you will be referred to the composer's name. 

 

Standards 

Dance, Music, Theatre, Visual Arts: What Every Young American Should Know and Be Able to Do in the Arts -- (NX280 .N37X 1994) "Contains content and achievement standards for music, dance, theatre, and visual arts for grades K-12. Developed by the Consortium of National Arts Education Associations (American Alliance for Theatre & Education, MENC, National Art Education Association, and National Dance Association) under the guidance of the National Committee for Standards in the Arts. Recommended for text adoption."

Opportunity-To-Learn Standards for Music Instruction -- (MT1 .M985 1994) "A guide to what schools should provide to help students achieve both the National Standards for Music Education in grades K-12 and the Music Educators National Conference music education standards. MENC recommends that states either adopt these opportunity-to-learn standards or use them as a basis for develop ing their own.

Performance Standards for Music (MENC) -- (MT1 .M44 1996) "Designed to assist individuals and organizations in assessing student learning. The performance standards comprise model assessment strategies and descriptions of student responses. One sample assessment strategy is provided for each achievement standard appearing under the nine voluntary national content standards for music for grades Pre-K-12 as well as under the four content standards for prekindergarten instruction. For each sample assessment strategy, a description of student response is provided at three levels: basic, proficient, and advanced. These standards offer a means for determining when the vision for a new curriculum in music, as set forth in the National Standards, has been realized. Developed by the MENC Committee on Performance Standards, chaired by Paul R. Lehman, with contributions from practicing teachers who have developed valid, reliable, and effective systems for assessing music learning."  

The School Music Program: A New Vision -- (MT2 .M43 1994) "Contains the K-12 national standards and MENC prekindergarten standards; provides a blueprint for a music curriculum based on the best practices of the past but modified to meet the needs of the future. Includes details about what the standards mean to music educators and ways that standards-driven curricula will better serve American students. " 
 
Teaching Examples: Ideas for Music Educators -- (MB MT3 .U5 M935 1994) "Based on the National Standards for Music Education, this collection of instructional strategies will help teachers design and implement a curriculum leading to achievement of the standards. Specific enough to be helpful...but not so specific as to limit your imagination! Designed for children from prekindergarten to grade 12." 
 
 

Professor and Instruction Librarian

Profile ImageShirley Lankford, MLS, M.Ed.
Contact Info:
Office #218 Ingram Library
University of West Georgia
Carrollton GA 30118
678.839.6358
Send Email

Subjects:
Counseling/Educational Psychology, Music

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait