Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UWG Library Home UWG Library Catalog UWG Library Databases GALILEO UWG Library Journal Locator UWG Library Requests University of West Georgia Home UWG Banweb myUWG Portal UWG WebCT Vista

Admin Sign In 

Music Research Guide 

Resources and research information for music students and faculty.
Last update: Jun 09th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.westga.edu/music  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Class Guides             Print Page
  
 

Introduction

In this section, you will find handouts for specific classes and or specific assignments.

 

MUSC3701

MUSC 3701: Western Music Before 1800

Library Resources for Completing Assigned Project

Library homepage www.westga.edu/~library/

Music Resource Page

  • http://libguides.westga.edu/  > Search box: music > search > click on Music Research Guide
  • Class handout for MUSC3710 > Search box: music > search > Class Guides > MUSC3701

  

Your assignment requires that you have a bibliography of at least 5 sources.

1.  An article from:

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed.).  Ref. ML100 .N48 2001.  29 volumes arranged alphabetically by musician or topic.  Located main floor of the Library in reference by call number.

OR

Grove Music Online.  An electronic database that includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd ed.), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

  • To access:  Go to Library homepage (www.westga.edu/~library/), click on Databases.  Type grove music online in “Find Databases by Keyword” box
  • Biographies > Name of composer or browse by letter

 2An article from scholarly journal, book or essay related to your composer/piece:

Scholarly Journal Articles

Music Databases:   

  • Grove Music Online includes the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.

  • Music Index (Ref. Index ML118 .M84-print)

Multi-subject Databases: (cover several subject areas)  

  • Academic Search Complete at Ebscohost
  • JSTOR
  • Project Muse
  • Research Library at ProQuest

For a list of music periodicals (magazines and scholarly journals) in print: Library Home Page > Keyword Search > Narrow my search > Location:Periodicals > >Narrow my search > Keyword search: music

To view a list of databases from which you can search scholarly journal articles: Library homepage > Databases > music.  

Books or Recordings: (Go to Library home page > Catalog) 

  • General biography: composer’s name and biography.
  • Scores: composer’s name in author field and a title word of composition in the title field.
  • Recordings: Narrow my Search > Medium > Sound Recording .  Composer’s name .
  • Music books are classified in the M’s, specifically M, ML, and MT for most of your assignment.

 

3.  A scholarly article, book, or essay about the historical context in which your piece finds itself:

Sources for books and periodicals listed above.

  • Books:  Catalog > Ex.:cathedrals and Europe
  • Scholarly journal articles:  (Database) > Ex.: reims cathedral

 

4.  A good musical recording of the composition(s):

  • Classical Music Library (database) is a classical music listening service.

Library homepage > Databases > Music > Classical Music Library > Composer > Click on letter that begins composer’s last name > make selection.

 

5.  A critical score of your composition:

  • Library Catalog > Composer’s name and score

 

Other Sources

  • Baker’s Biographical Dictionary of Musicians (Ref. ML105 .B16 2001)
  • New Harvard Dictionary of Music (ML100 .R3 1986)
  • Schwann Inside Jazz and Classical (Periodicals)

Locations

  • Books that check out:  By call number order on 2nd & 3rd floors; M’s on third floor.
  • Reference books: Main floor arranged by call number.
  • Periodicals: Main floor arranged by title unless title begins with a, an, the.
  • Print Indices: Main floor arranged by call number.

 Style Manuals (Reference Area)

A Manual for Writers of Term Papers by Kate Turabian (Ready Ref. LB2369.T81996)

A Writer's Resource by Elaine Maimon (Reserves-Circulation Desk)

 

Professor and Instruction Librarian

Profile ImageShirley Lankford, MLS, M.Ed.
Contact Info:
Office #218 Ingram Library
University of West Georgia
Carrollton GA 30118
678.839.6358
Send Email

Subjects:
Counseling/Educational Psychology, Music

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait