General Literature
Indexes/Databases
MLA International Bibliography ![]()
MLA International Bibliography may be a most comprehensive database for people in the Language/Literature field. It contains bibliographic information on journal articles, books, collections, and dissertations. It also includes full-text articles. MLA Directory of Periodicals is a list of journals that are contained in this database and you can find it in the green bar right under search function tab in the database screen.
Literature Online Reference Edition ![]()
This database is a "collection of literature resources, ranging from author biographies, student guides and dictionaries of literary terms to specialist search materials such as current full-text journals and bibliographic citations." (from the database's information page)
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center is a combination of three databases: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism. Genres covered in this database are: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, histry, journalism, etc.
JSTOR
One of the major full-text databases for journal articles, including articles written in other languages such as Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese and Spanish. Note that "JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR." (from JSTOR's Welcome page)
Project Muse ![]()
Another major full-text databases for journal articles, covering currently published issues. Project Muse contains only peer-reviewed, scholarly journals published from University presses and other academic publishers.
Academic Search Complete at EBSCOhost
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Research Library at Proquest
Research Library contains citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly journals, old and new newspapers, trade publications and magazines for general interest.
Humanities Index
Call Number: AI3 .H85 Location: Periodical Index Area (1F)
Humanities Index is used to find an article on your topic or by a certain author's name. In Humanities Index, subjects and authors are arranged together in alphabetical order. There is also a section for citation list to book reviews arranged by name of the author of the reviewed book, or the title of the book.
Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works
Call Number: PN1022 .C63 2004 Location: Reference (1F)
Contains mainly American and British poems, but also poems from other countries in English translation. It is searchable by title & first line of poem, author's name and subject.
Resources for Literary Criticism
Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism
Call Number: BH39 .C62 1995 Location: Reference (1F)
This book would be a good start point for the research on literary and cultural criticism. Most articles have concise definitions and a brief bibliography for further reading. Some major concepts have longer explanations. There is also a 27 page bibliography at the end of the book. Also available in Literature Online Reference Edition
Continental Novel: a checklist of criticism in English, 1900-1966
Call Number: Z5916 .K4 Location: Reference (1F)
Continental Novel: a checklist of criticism in English, 1967-1980
Call Number: Z5916 .F57 1983 Location: Reference (1F)
Includes bibliographic information of critical essays on European continental novels (French, Spanish, Portuguese, German, Italian, etc.) Entries are divided by language, and then author, and title of author's work.
Dictionary of Literary Influences : the twentieth century, 1914-2000
Call Number: Z1039.C45 D53 2004 Location: Reference (1F)
Internet Public Library: Literary Criticism
http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/
"The IPL Literary Criticism Collection contains critical and biographical websites about authors and their works that can be browsed by author, by title, or by nationality and literary period." Internet Public Library is maintained by University of Michigan School of Information.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism![]()
"It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods." (from The Guide's homepage.)
Biographical Resources
International Who's Who
Call Number: CT120 .I5 Location: Reference (1F)
Merriam-Webster’s Biographical Dictionary
Call Number: CT103 .M47 1995 Location: Reference (1F)
Who's Who in Europe, 1450-1750
Call Number: D106 .K36 2000 Location: Reference (1F)
Biographical Dictionary of Literary Influences : the nineteenth century, 1800-1914
Call Number: Z1039.C45 B56 2001 Location: Reference (1F)
Dictionary of Literary Influences : the twentieth century, 1914-2000
Call Number: Z1039.C45 D53 2004 Location: Reference (1F)
A Celebration of Women Writers
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/women/
Database of information on women writers. Searchable by century, country, and/or ethnicity. Created by Mary Mark.
Text Collections
Electronic Text Collections in Western European Literature
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/wess/etexts.html
"This page lists Internet sources for literary texts in the western European languages other than English." from the WESS Web (Western European Studies Section of Association of College and Research Libraries), maintained by James Campbell, University of Virginia Library.
In the First Person
http://www.inthefirstperson.com/firp/index.aspx
"...index of more than 3,350 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world." Created by Alexander Street Press.
Index Translationum
http://www.unesco.org/culture/xtrans/
"The database contains cumulative bibliographical information on books translated and published in about one hundred of the UNESCO Member States since 1979 and totalling more than 1.600,000 entries in all disciplines : literature, social and human sciences, natural and exact sciences, art, history and so forth." from UNESCO Culture Sector.
Resources for Films/Performing Arts
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers
Call Number: PN1997.8 .I58 Location: Reference (1F)
International motion picture almanac
Call Number: PN1993.3 .I55 Location: Reference (1F)
Western European stages
Periodicals: Shelved alphabetically by title. Location: Periodical Shelves (1F)
Infomine: Visual and Performing Arts
http://infomine.ucr.edu/cgi-bin/search?arts
"INFOMINE is a virtual library of Internet resources relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. It contains useful Internet resources such as databases, electronic journals, electronic books,..." This is a search engine for visual and performing arts within INFOMINE. Created by libraians of University of California, et al.
ForeignFilms.com
http://www.foreignfilms.com
This site contains information of films outside the United States. There are pages for "The Best French(/German/Spanish) Films on DVD". Associated with Amazon.com.
Internet Movie Database
http://us.imdb.com
Huge database for films. Contains review information, photos from the film, "user comments" with ratings, awards, etc..
Film Literature Index
http://webapp1.dlib.indiana.edu/fli/index.jsp
"The FLI online database contains citations to film, television and video articles, reviews and book reviews. You can search the citations or browse by subject headings, browse by person names, browse by production titles, or browse by corporate names." Joint creation by Indiana University, Bloomington and State University of New York, Albany. p>
Other Resources
The European Library
http://www.theeuropeanlibrary.org/portal/index.htm
"The European Library is a portal which offers access to the combined resources (books, magazines, journals.... - both digital and non-digital) of the 45 national libraries of Europe." The site hosted by Koninklijke Bibliotheek in Netherlands.
Portals to the World
http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
"Portals to the World contains selective links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world." selected by subject Experts of Library of Congress.
Europe for Visitors
http://europeforvisitors.com
"provide approximately 5,000 pages of original articles, annotated links to other Web sites, and additional travel-planning resources that are specifically geared to European travel and cruising--primarily in Western and Atlantic Europe..." by Durant and Cheryl Imboden.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait