Spanish Literature
Web Resources
- Call Number Ranges for Languages and Literature of Latin America
The Latin American Library at Tulane University - Iberian Studies Web - WESSWeb
Project of Association of College and Research Libraries. - HLAS (Handbook of Latin American Studies)
by Library of Congress - Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - Basic Search
Table of contents search engine for journals that are published in Latin America. - Project Gutenberg
Collection of texts in Spanish - Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC
Collection of websites by subject. University of Texas - Biblioteca Nacional de EspaƱa
Spain's National Library - Latin American and Caribbean Library Internet Resource Links
Latin American and Caribbean Library at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. - Pathfinders: Spanish Literature
"its purpose is to provide some direction to anyone interested in learning about Spanish literature"--from the introduction. - Internet Resources for Latin America
Created by Molly Molloy, New Mexico State University Library - Latin American Studies
Benson Latin American Collection, University of Texas at Austin - Hispanic Reading Room Home Page (Library of Congress)
Library of Congress
Indexes/Databases
MLA International Bibliography ![]()
MLA International Bibliography may be a most comprehensive database for people in the Language/Literature field. It contains bibliographic information on journal articles, books, collections, and dissertations. It also includes full-text articles. MLA Directory of Periodicals is a list of journals that are contained in this database and you can find it in the green bar right under search function tab in the database screen.
Literature Online Reference Edition ![]()
This database is a "collection of literature resources, ranging from author biographies, student guides and dictionaries of literary terms to specialist search materials such as current full-text journals and bibliographic citations." (from the database's information page)
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center is a combination of three databases: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism. Genres covered in this database are: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, histry, journalism, etc.
JSTOR
One of the major full-text databases for journal articles, including articles written in other languages such as Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese and Spanish. Note that "JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR." (from JSTOR's Welcome page)
Project Muse ![]()
Another major full-text databases for journal articles, covering currently published issues. Project Muse contains only peer-reviewed, scholarly journals published from University presses and other academic publishers.
Academic Search Complete at EBSCOhost
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Research Library at Proquest
Research Library contains citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly journals, old and new newspapers, trade publications and magazines for general interest.
Humanities Index
Call Number: AI3 .H85 Location: Periodical Index Area (1F)
Humanities Index is used to find an article on your topic or by a certain author's name. In Humanities Index, subjects and authors are arranged together in alphabetical order. There is also a section for citation list to book reviews arranged by name of the author of the reviewed book, or the title of the book.
Print Resources
Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works
Call Number: PN1022 .C63 2004 Location: Reference (1F)
Contains
mainly American and British poems, but also poems from other countries
in English translation. It is searchable by title & first line of
poem, author's name and subject.
Spanish culture and society : the essential glossary
Call Number: DP233.5 .S73 2002 Location: Reference (1F)
"The glossary covers a broad range of topics dealing with Spanish culture and society roughly from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present" (from the prefice of the book). List of thematic groupings and bibliography for further reading are provided.
Encyclopedia of contemporary Spanish culture
Call Number: DP233.5 .E63 1999Location: Reference (1F)
Listings are arranged in alphabetical order with cross reference. 'Further reading' list for many individual articles. Includes list of thematic groupings and index.
Encyclopedia of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean cultures
Call Number: F1406 .E515 2000 Location: Reference (1F)
This book consists of 3 volumes. Entries are arranged alphabetically with cross reference. Includes "Decades" chapter that summarises cultural characteristics of each decade from 1920's.
Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture (2nd ed.)
Call Number: F1406 .E53 2008 Location: Reference (1F)
6 volumes. Entries are arranged alphabetically. There are sections such as "chronology","Thematic Outlline of Topics" and "Table of Biographical Subjects by Profession," at the end of volume 6.
Encyclopedia of Latin American literature
Call Number:PQ7081 .A1 E56X 1997 Location: Reference (1F)
"The Encyclopedia of Latin America contains entries on writers, works, and topics relating to the literature of Latin American, including survey articles on all the continent's individual countries"(from the editors note). Each entry for authors has short biography, list of selected works, and further reading list.
Call Number: Location:
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait