German Literature
On this page you will find:
Web Resources
Research Guides
- University of Washington Libraries' German Literature and Language: Selected Reference and Bibliographical Resources
- Olin and Uris Libraries of Cornell University: Library Research Guide for German Studies
- Emory University Libraries' German Studies Research Guide
- Association of College and Research Libraries' WESSWEB: German Studies Web: Literature Resources
- Brigham Young University Library's German Language and Literature Research Guide
- New York University Bobst Library's German Language and Literature Subject Guide
- New York University Bobst Library's Research Assistance: German Literature
- Yale University Library's German Literature Research Guide
Libraries and Institutions
- American Institute for Contemporary German Studies (AICGS)
- Deutsche Nationalbibliothek
Germany's National Library. Available Resources:- Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek (The Library's Online Catalog)
- Deutsche Nationalbibliografie online (National Bibliography)
- Zeitschriftendatenbank (Union List of Serials)
etc.
- Katalog der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek (The Library's Online Catalog)
- Institut für Deutsche Sprache
Institute for German Language.
- Goethe-Institut New York
- The German Studies Association
- Österreichische Nationalbibliothek
Austria's National Library. Available Resources:- Kataloge (List of Catalogs)
- OeB Online (National Bibliography)
- ANNO: AustriaN Newspapers Online
- Österreichischer Bibliothekenverbund: Gesamtkatalog (Austrian Union Catalog)
etc.
- Kataloge (List of Catalogs)
- German Historical Institute, Washington D.C.
- Gemeinsamer Bibliotheksverbund (GBV)
Common Library Network GBV.
- American Association of Teachers of German
- Association for Modern German Studies (UK)
Website Lists
- BUBL Link: German Literature
by BUBL Information Service
- Collection Development: German Studies Internet Resources
Arizona State University Libraries
- Resources for German Language and Literature
by Susan Widmer (Vanderbilt University Central Library)
- German Studies Trails on theWeb
by Andreas Lixl (University of North Carolina at Greensboro)
- WESS Web: German Studies Web
by Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)
- WESS Web: German Studies Web: Major Digital Projects
by Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)
- Germanistische Fachinformationen im WWW
by Barbara König (Universitätsbibliothek, Freie Universität Berlin)
- germanistik.net: Internet Resources for Germanists
by Alan Ng
- Link Catalogue: Germany on the Internet
by Goethe-Institut
Reference Sources
- LEO: English-German Dictionary
Online English-German, German-English dictionary by LEO GmbH
- The New English-German Dictionary
Another dictionary site. By Rüdiger Werner
Other Web Resources
-
19th-Century German Stories
"Web editions for language learning & literary study" by Robert Godwin-Jones (Virginia Commonwealth University)
-
Litrix: German Literature Online
by the Federal Cultural Foundation, Germany
-
ARIADNE
Women's and Gender Studies Database by Austrian National Library.
-
DEFA Film Library: Cinema of East Germany
University of Massachusetts Amherst
- Hollywood in Berlin: American Cinema and Weimar Germany
Book written by Thomas J. Saunders
- Foreign Language News and Newspapers: German Language News and Magazines
by MIT Libraries
Indexes/Databases
MLA International Bibliography ![]()
MLA International Bibliography may be a most comprehensive database for people in the Language/Literature field. It contains bibliographic information on journal articles, books, collections, and dissertations. It also includes full-text articles. MLA Directory of Periodicals is a list of journals that are contained in this database and you can find it in the green bar right under search function tab in the database screen.
Literature Online Reference Edition ![]()
This database is a "collection of literature resources, ranging from author biographies, student guides and dictionaries of literary terms to specialist search materials such as current full-text journals and bibliographic citations." (from the database's information page)
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center is a combination of three databases: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism. Genres covered in this database are: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, histry, journalism, etc.
JSTOR
One of the major full-text databases for journal articles, including articles written in other languages such as Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese and Spanish. Note that "JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR." (from JSTOR's Welcome page)
Project Muse ![]()
Another major full-text databases for journal articles, covering currently published issues. Project Muse contains only peer-reviewed, scholarly journals published from University presses and other academic publishers.
Academic Search Complete at EBSCOhost
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Research Library at Proquest
Research Library contains citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly journals, old and new newspapers, trade publications and magazines for general interest.
Humanities Index
Call Number: AI3 .H85 Location: Periodical Index Area (1F)
Humanities Index is used to find an article on your topic or by a certain author's name. In Humanities Index, subjects and authors are arranged together in alphabetical order. There is also a section for citation list to book reviews arranged by name of the author of the reviewed book, or the title of the book.
Print Resources (books)
Encyclopedia of German literature
Call Number: PT91 .E53 2000 Location: Reference (1F)
Entries consist of authors, works and topics. Authors and topics are
arranged alphabetically and entries for works come right after the article on
author. An alphabetical list of works is provided at the beginning of the book.
With each entry, there are 'further reading' list, biography for authors, and
list of selected works, editions, and translations. 2 volumes set.
Handbook of Austrian literature
Call Number: PT155 .U5 Location: Reference (1F)
Translation from Handbuch der dutschen Gegenwartsliteratur, by
Hermann Kunisch. This book contains essays on about 80 Austrian authors from19th
and 20th century. Two to five pages are spent per author. Each entry has the
author's works (some have English translations) and bibliography of criticisms.
If available, there is a section "English translations in collections" so that
you can save time to check contents of each collective work for a specific
author.
The Oxford companion to German
literature
Call Number: PT41 .G3 Location: Reference (1F)
"A companion to the historical and cultural background to German
literature as well as to the writers and works themselves", covering the time
period from 9th century to the early 1970's. Entries (authors, works, and
literary concepts) are arranged in alphabetical order and cross-referenced.
Women writers of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland : an
annotated bio-bibliographical guide
Call Number: PT167 .W66X 1989 Location: Reference (1F)
"This annotated bio-bibliographical guide presents both factual and
interpretive information on 185 German...Austrian, and Swiss women writers from
the tenth century to the present [i.e.1980's]" Most entries are writers after
1800, and they alphabetically arranged with brief biographical information and
description of their theme, and annotated list of their works.
Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works
Call Number: PN1022 .C63 2004 Location: Reference (1F)
Contains
mainly American and British poems, but also poems from other countries
in English translation. It is searchable by title & first line of
poem, author's name and subject.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait