French Literature
On this page you will find:
Web Resources
Research Guides
- New York University Bobst Library's French Language & Literature
Subject Guide
- New York University Bobst Library's Research Assistance: French
Language and Literature
- Yale University Library's French Language &
Literature Resources
- Boston College Library's Research Guide: French Language & Literature
Text Collections
- Athena: textes
francais
Links to French/Francophone literary texts. Includes works translated to French. Created and maintained by Pierre Perroud.
- Project Gutenberg
Large collection of full-text electronic books in various original languages and English translations.
- Gallica: la bibliotheque
numerique
"Gallica is a digital library of French and francophone culture maintained by the Bibliotheque nationale de France. Contains numerous electronic texts, images, maps, animation, and sound files of French and other publications in history, literature, science, philosophy, law, economics, and political science." (quoted from WorldCat catalog record)
Libraries and Institutions
- The Boston French Center
- French Institute Alliance
Française
- British
Library French Section
- The Society for French Studies (UK)
- Society for
Eighteenth-Century French Studies (SECFS)
- New York University Center
for French Civilization and Culture
- Association for French Language Studies
(UK)
- American Association of Teachers of
French
- Bibliothèque Nationale de
France
France's National Library. Available Resources:- Bibliographie
Nationale Française en Ligne (French Natinal Bibliography Online)
- Catalogue Collectif de
France/CCFR (Union Catalog of France)
- BN-OPALE
PLUS (The Library's online catalog)
etc.
- Bibliographie
Nationale Française en Ligne (French Natinal Bibliography Online)
Website Lists
- ClicNet:
Littérature francophone virtuelle
by Carole Netter at Swathmore College.
- French
Connection
Howard University Libraries
- Hapax: French Resources on the
Web
by Angelo Metzidakis (Sweet Briar College)
- Internet Resources
for Romance Languages and Literatures
by Francis Poole (University of Delaware Library)
- Languages
and Linguistics: French Language and Literature
by Kirsten Allen (American University Library)
- Parlez-Vous Français?: A 21st Century
Internet Resource for French Students and Teachers
by Susan Seraphine-Kimel
- Selected
Internet Resources-French Language & Literature
by Jeffry K. Larson (Yale Unversity Library)
- Selected
Library and Internet Resources for French Studies
by Dominique Coulombe (Brown University Library)
- Sites on
Francophone Cultures and Literatures
by C. Perry (University of Notre Dame)
- TennesseeBob's
Famous French Links
by Bob Packham (University of Tennessee at Martin)
- Useful Academic Sites in
French and Francophone Cultures and Literatures
by C.Perry (University of Notre Dame)
- WESSWEB: French Studies
Web
by Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL)
Reference
Sources
- Encyclopédie Hachette
Multimédia
Online Encyclopedia written in French.
- Francophone
Countries of the World
List of Francophone countries.
Created by Richard Shryock (French Program at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University)
- Institut National de la
Statistique et des Études Économiques
Statistics on France. Ex. geography, population, economy, health, education etc.
English pages available.
- ARTFL
Project: French-English Dictionary Form
From the Website of ARTFL Project by University of Chicago
Other Web
Resources
- Alapage.com
Online Bookstore catalog. Contains CDs, DVDs, etc.
Indexes/Databases
MLA International Bibliography ![]()
MLA International Bibliography may be a most comprehensive database for people in the Language/Literature field. It contains bibliographic information on journal articles, books, collections, and dissertations. It also includes full-text articles. MLA Directory of Periodicals is a list of journals that are contained in this database and you can find it in the green bar right under search function tab in the database screen.
Literature Online Reference Edition ![]()
This database is a "collection of literature resources, ranging from author biographies, student guides and dictionaries of literary terms to specialist search materials such as current full-text journals and bibliographic citations." (from the database's information page)
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center is a combination of three databases: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism. Genres covered in this database are: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, histry, journalism, etc.
JSTOR
One of the major full-text databases for journal articles, including articles written in other languages such as Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese and Spanish. Note that "JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR." (from JSTOR's Welcome page)
Project Muse ![]()
Another major full-text databases for journal articles, covering currently published issues. Project Muse contains only peer-reviewed, scholarly journals published from University presses and other academic publishers.
Academic Search Complete at EBSCOhost
Scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Research Library at Proquest
Research Library contains citations, abstracts, and full-text articles from scholarly journals, old and new newspapers, trade publications and magazines for general interest.
Humanities Index
Call Number: AI3 .H85 Location: Periodical Index Area (1F)
Humanities Index is used to find an article on your topic or by a certain author's name. In Humanities Index, subjects and authors are arranged together in alphabetical order. There is also a section for citation list to book reviews arranged by name of the author of the reviewed book, or the title of the book.
Print Resources (books)
Cambridge history of African and Caribbean literature
Call Number: PN. 841 .I74 2004 Location: Stacks (3F)
40 essays on African and Caribbean literature that are written in European and African language are included in 2 volumes. Each essay provides excellent bibliography that would be useful for starting research in this field. 15 pages of chronology of historical/political events and of literary/cultural events, 5 pages of maps, and index are provided.
New Oxford companion to literature in French
Call Number: PQ41 .N49X 1995 Location: Reference (1F)
Standard reference work for literary works, authors and concepts. Entries are arranged alphabetically and a list of general entries is provided. Summary chronology of events and maps at different periods, map of former French territories overseas, a map of central Paris are included.
Dictionary of modern French literature : from the age of reason through realism
Call Number: PQ41 .D65 1986 Location: Reference (1F)
Covers 1715-1880 with 300 entries and two appendixes (A: historical and literary events, B: entries grouped by subject/period). Some articles have 'further information' section. Entries cover authors, works, movements and terms. Index provided.
Critical bibliography of French literature
Call Number: Z2171 .C74 1947 Location: Reference (1F)
Old but extensive list of authors' works and related critical works in 6 volumes and supplements (UWG has v.1-v.4 and v.4 Supplement). Each volume has index. Each volume focuses on different period. Chapters for each volume are divided by literary genres in which the articles are arranged by subgenre and then by author's name. Each listing has annotations.
Guide to French literature
Call Number: PQ41 .L48 1992 Location: Reference (1F)
Listings are arranged in alphabetical order chiefly by major authors of French literature, and also some literary movements (ex. Jansenism and L'Encyclopédie). Articles on authors have sub-divided entries such as Life, Works, Publications (collections, verse, scientific writings, biographical and critical studies, bibliography, etc.). Useful sources other than main articles include the list of entries, chronology at beginning of each volume (Vol.1:1498-1789, Vol. 2:1775-1969), another chronology for French literary culture by century (Vol.1:16c-18c, Vol.2:19c-20c).
French science fiction, fantasy, horror and pulp fiction : a guide to cinema, television, radio, animation, comic books and literature from the middle ages to the present
Call Number: PQ41 .D65 1986 Location: Reference (1F)
This book consists of two parts. First part provides information on works in films, radio, television, and other graphic media. The second part is for literature (science fiction, fantasy, horror, etc.), from middle age to the end of 20th century.
Francophone Studies: the essential glossary
Call Number: DC33.7 .F724 2002 Location: Reference (1F)
"This glossary is designed to provide an introduction to the global area of Francophone Studies and a route-map for further study" Entries are brief, but might be helpful to grasb a broad knowledge of Francophone countries and their cultures. Covers "post-1945 historical period." However, France and Francophone countries in Europe such as Belgium, Luxembourg and Switzerland are excluded. There is thematic index of entries, "Institution of Francophonie" and bibliography at the end of the book.
French Culture and Society: the essentials
Call Number: DC33.7 .F7265 2001 Location: Reference (1F)
"This glossary aims to provide a handbook of concise and relevant information, and a springboard for further investigation." Covers historical, social/political, cultural topics from the end of the First World War to present. List of thematic groupings and bibliography for further reading are provided.
Modern Romance Literatures (A Library of Literary Criticism Series)
Call Number: PN813 .C8 Location: Reference (1F)
Book reviews and criticisms of authors of European Romance countries, e.g. France, Spain, Switzerland and Belgium, mainly from the first half of the 20th century (before 1960's). Some turn-of-the-century authors are included. Articles mainly consist of excerpts from American and British literary journal articles.
Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works
Call Number: PN1022 .C63 2004 Location: Reference (1F)
Contains
mainly American and British poems, but also poems from other countries
in English translation. It is searchable by title & first line of
poem, author's name and subject.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait