Evaluating Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UWG Library Home UWG Library Catalog UWG Library Databases GALILEO UWG Library Journal Locator UWG Library Requests University of West Georgia Home UWG Banweb myUWG Portal UWG WebCT Vista

Admin Sign In 

Chemistry  Tags: chemistry science  

A guide to searching and accessing chemistry materials through Ingram Library
Last update: Aug 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.westga.edu/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Websites             Print Page
  
 

Google Scholar and Books

Google the Library!

 

Find our books and articles using Google Scholar and Google Books.

 

Evaluate Your Sources

A good researcher evaluates every one of their sources, most especially internet resources.

Learn the questions you should always ask.

 
 

Chemistry Websites

General Reference

  • HyperPhysics Chemistry covers many aspects of chemistry and physics, using interaction and concept maps to show how all physical science concepts are related.  (author: Georgia State Univ Rod Nave)
  • ChemCollective features interactive chemistry tutorials, an excellent online stoichiometry unit, and a virtual lab, funded by the National Science Foundation and National Science Digital Library.
  • Electrochemistry Dictionary is part of a larger site, which includes a list of resources and an electrochemistry encyclopedia, hosted by Case Western Reserve University and maintained by Illinois Institute of Technology
  • IUPAC Nomenclature provides extensive links to glossaries and standards for naming chemical compounds hosted by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry web site .
  • EurekAlert! is an electronic index of research advances in science, medicine, health and technology as published in the science media, including peer-reviewed scientific journals. Although underwritten by commercial sponsors, AAAS is responsible for the editorial content.
  • spectroscopyNOW.com offers spectroscopy information, resources and services. Techniques covered include: Mass Spectrometry, X-ray Spectrometry, NMR, Chemometrics, Infrared, Atomic Spectrometry, Raman Spectrometry, Ultraviolet, MRI, and Proteomics.
  • CHEMnetBASE A wealth of chemical information from Chapman & Hall/CRC, publishers of major chemical reference works.

Periodic Tables

  • NIST Periodic Table The National Institute of Standards and Technology created this table, which includes basic properties, spectral wavelengths, isotopes, and radiation data for each element.
  • Periodic Table of Videos The University of Nottingham created 5 minute videos about each element, including experiments, applications, history, and more.  Actually entertaining!
  • Chemicool Periodic Table This periodic table has links to information on each of the chemical elements and some simple chemistry calculators.
  • LennTech Periodic Table This table gives each element's basic chemical properties as well as detailed articles on the element's environmental and health effects.
  • American Elements This periodic table includes information on each element and its commonly associated chemical products. It also featured recent research on each element and product.

Online Tools

  • Edgar Fahs Smith Collection of Images Over 3,000 images of scientist, laboratories, and scientific apparatus are provided by the University of Pennsylvania Library.
  • 4000 Years of Women in Science This University of Alabama resource contains biographical information on women scientists through out history. Chemistry is among the many disciplines covered.
  • Indiana University Molecular Structure Center This site allows users to construct molecules using several model types and also provides the ability to rotate the molecules for views from any angle.
  • Molecular Weight Calculation This site is a simple calculator for determining the molecular weights of compounds.
  • NIST Chemistry WebBook The data collections of the National Institute of Standards and Technology can be accessed at this site. Thermochemical data, reaction thermochemistry data, IR spectra, mass spectra, and UV/Vis spectra data are some of the topics covered.

Internet Directories

  • Academic Info:Chemistry This site provides a large annotated directory of web resources relating to Chemistry and includes indexes, databases, search engines and reference materials.
  • Analytical Chemistry Springboard Sponsored by the Analytical Chemistry Department of Umea University in Sweden, this site attempts to provide a comprehensive list of analytical chemistry resources on the Internet.
  • Chemdex.org With over 7100 links in this international directory of chemistry, this website covers nearly any aspect of chemistry imaginable. The site is maintained by the University of Sheffield in England.
  • Infomine:Scholarly Internet Resource Collections Maintained by the University of California, this site contains thousands of links to sites relating to the sciences.
  • SciTechResources.gov This catalog of government science and technology websites contains a number of important sites and will continue to add more useful sources over time.
  • Virtual Library:Science Virtual Library provides links to academic institutions, organizations and other web resources in chemistry.
  • Please contact me to report broken links.

Suggest a Link

 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageJean Cook


Contact Info:
Reference Desk: 678-839-6495
Office 212
678-839-6356
Send Email

Subjects:
Science

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait