Evaluating Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
UWG Library Home UWG Library Catalog UWG Library Databases GALILEO UWG Library Journal Locator UWG Library Requests University of West Georgia Home UWG Banweb myUWG Portal UWG WebCT Vista

Admin Sign In 

Chemistry  Tags: chemistry science  

A guide to searching and accessing chemistry materials through Ingram Library
Last update: Aug 20th, 2009 URL: http://libguides.westga.edu/chemistry  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Articles in Ingram Library

If you're just looking for any article on a topic, use the databases.

If you're looking for a particular article, use the Journal Locator.

Any article not immediately available full text can be requested via ILLIAD.

 

Attention Faculty!

Science faculty now have instant full text access to articles in ScienceDirect.

 

Contact your liaison (jcook@westga.edu) for more information.

 
 

Databases

For most lower level, non-professional research, a general database will cover what you need, including the basics of a topic and the latest developments.

  • Academic Search Complete
    • Includes major news carriers (ie: New York Times), popular science magazines (ie: Science, Nature, Discover, Scientific American, Popular Science), and more.

For more scholarly, upper level research, you will want to use our subject specific databases.  Try searching in a database that covers only the fields or topics you're interested in.  Many chemistry databases can be found in the following sections.

Engineering and Material Sciences
Physical and Environmental Sciences

Many science journals are indexed by their publisher.  Begin with these databases for full text articles.

UWG chemistry students can now access CAS Scifinder off-campus.

  1. Register for off-campus use.
  2. Access the database with your personal log-in.
 

Print Indexes

Our databases do not provide universal coverage of every journal.  Ingram Library also owns a number of print resources that can help you find relevant articles. If you're stuck, try the following indexes, located behind the reference desk on the main floor, or contact the reference desk for help.

  • Applied Science and Technology Index (Ref. Index Area: T1 .A6x)
  • General Science Index (Ref. Index Area: Q1 .G46x)
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageJean Cook


Contact Info:
Reference Desk: 678-839-6495
Office 212
678-839-6356
Send Email

Subjects:
Science

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait