Community User Information
As a member of the West Georgia community, you are welcome to use Ingram Library. This guide will help you make the best use of the library and its resources.
When can I use the library?
Our hours are 24/5: we open at 2pm on Sunday afternoons and do not close until 11pm Friday. We are open 10am-6pm on Saturdays. Because our primary mission is to serve the students, faculty, and staff of the University of West Georgia, you might want to consider the UWG Academic Calendar and avoid coming during times in the semester when student use is likely to be higher (midterms and finals). Student use of the library is lowest on Saturdays. Under federal law, public users of U.S. government information resources will be given the same degree of assistance as members of the campus community.
Can I check out books?
Yes! Members of the community can get a Guest Borrower card at the Check Out desk (the main one when you walk in the front doors). Applicants must be residents of one of the following counties: Carroll (GA), Coweta (GA), Douglas (GA), Haralson (GA), Heard (GA), Paulding (GA), Cleburne (AL), or Randolph (AL), and provide proof of local address. Community Borrowers may have up to 3 items checked out at a time for a period of 28 days (some items may be renewed by phone). After 6 months, Community Borrowers in good standing may request to have their borrowing limit increased to 7 items. (High School students remain at three).
- High School Students
If you are a High School student (grades 9-12) living in the counties listed above, you will need your guardian or sponsoring teacher to sign your application in the presence of a Circulation staff member. (Students in the 8th grade or below are not eligible to receive a Guest Borrower's card). After you are granted a card, you can check out 3 items at a time. School-sponsored high school student’s privileges will expire at the end of the academic year.
Please check below for general policies related to Guest Borrowers!
Can I use computers in the library?
Yes. All of our computers require a username and login. For UWG students, staff, and faculty this is their UWG ID. For our guests, you can ask at the Check Out Desk in Ingram Library.
Can I get on the University's wireless?
Yes, but you need to contact UWG's ITS office Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm to request guest access (678-839-6587). Please note that no library employee has the ability to give guest access to the wireless.
Can I print in the library?
To print from our computers in Ingram Library, ask for a print card from the Check Out Desk. You will need to put money on the print card and there are instruction sheets in the library for doing this and for using the printers.
Your other option is to save the files (articles, etc) to a flash drive and print them elsewhere (on campus you could go to Pub and Print). Please note that Ingram Library does not have color printers but you can print and copy in color at Pub and Print.
Can I access the online resources you have?
Yes, from within our building. Our licensing agreements with our online vendors allow members of the UWG community to access the resources. If you are in the library, you are part of the UWG community and can access the materials. Your Guest Borrower card does not, however, allow you access to our online resources from home. Our licensing agreements do not permit that.
How are you different from Neva Lomason (Carrollton's public library)?
To serve the diverse needs of our students, Ingram Library is open 24/5 (see above). We also have different kinds of resources due to the areas of study at UWG and the benefits of our shared resources with other University System of Georgia schools. While some of the databases in GALILEO are the same for public and academic libraries, most are different (see http://libguides.westga.edu/databases for a complete list of what UWG has). With your West Georgia Regional Library card (Neva Lomason), you can use online resources from home; as noted above you can only use UWG's online resources from inside our building.
Can I get help using your resources?
Yes. UWG librarians are available for reference questions 11am-5pm Monday-Thursday. You can also ask our student assistants for help at other times when no librarian is available.
What is "Special Collections"?
Special Collections is a section of Ingram Library where we house rare materials, manuscripts, local history, and the University's archives. For more information please see: http://www.westga.edu/special/index.php. Due to the nature of the materials, Special Collections items are not on browseable shelves. This page has information on how to make the best use of your time when consulting materials from Special Collections.
How can I learn about events and exhibits happening in Ingram Library?
You can consult our calendar and blog: https://uwglibrary.wordpress.com/
How do I get there? And where do I park?
If you are coming to campus Monday-Friday 8am-5pm, please make sure that you stop by UWG's new Visitor Center (in the historic Bonner House) on Front Campus Drive to receive your complimentary visitor parking hangtag. Staff there will direct you to the Library and provide you information on the closest available parking. If you are coming on the weekend or during the evening, please call 678-839-2232 to leave a voicemail. Note that if you are parked after hours, Parking & Transportation may not be aware that you called ahead due to there being no hangtag on your vehicle. If you receive a ticket while on campus, take the ticket and your ID to Row Hall and let them know that you called ahead. The visitor log is faxed to Parking & Transportation each morning for the previous night (faxed on Mondays for weekends). Please see http://www.westga.edu/parking/ for more information about parking. For directions to campus and a map of campus, please see http://www.westga.edu/index_map.php
General Policies applying to all Guest Borrowers
The Guest Borrower Card is non-transferable and the individual named on the card is responsible for all items borrowed with the card and for any fines or charges for damages or lost materials. After approval of application, the Guest Borrower's library privileges will continue in effect as long as the patron uses the library on a regular basis and does not abuse privileges.
Issuance of a Guest Borrower card does not guarantee access to all library facilities, materials, or services; for example, Guest Borrowers, Alumni, and Retirees may not place Inter-Library Loan requests, GIL Express requests, or obtain the password for remote access to online databases. Guests are invited to use our desktop computers to conduct research (usernames and passwords are available at the front desk). When items are not returned by the due date, community members will be assessed fines according to the chart below: