This is the "Home" page of the "Collections Evaluation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UWG Home Ingram Library Contact Us A-Z Index calendars Search Image Map

Collections Evaluation  

Last Updated: Jan 31, 2017 URL: http://libguides.westga.edu/collectionevaluation Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collections Evaluation

This page is to provide information about our 2016-2018 collection evaluation project. This guide contains background information, links to other documents of interest, and report on the progress that we are making. 

Overview:
To keep collections useful and relevant for students and faculty, librarians periodically determine if there are books we no longer need and if there are areas where we have gaps. This is part of a continual process to maintain the health of our collections.

We are currently evaluating our collections more intensely because we will be migrating to a new online library catalog (Alma) in the summer of 2017. We intend for this process to make our collections more relevant to users. Faculty in each department will be asked for their feedback before items are removed from collections relevant to their disciplines.

In Spring 2016 we created a plan and workflow to evaluate the collection. Subject librarians will evaluate titles in consultation with academic departments through 2016 and the first half of 2017. After departments are given the opportunity to review titles lists, library staff will process materials identified for deselection. The processing of materials is anticipated to go through 2018. 

Please see the FAQ for more information about the project and the Project Timeline for more details about what will happen when. 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip