This is the "Articles & eResources" page of the "General Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
UWG Home Ingram Library Contact Us A-Z Index calendars Search Image Map

General Anthropology   Tags: anth, anthro  

Last Updated: Dec 15, 2014 URL: http://libguides.westga.edu/anthropology Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles & eResources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Journal Finder - Track down a citation using the journal title

Find a specific journal by title:



e.g. Nature, Consumer Reports, or Clinical Nursing

 

Anthropology-Specific Databases

AnthroSource
We offer full-text access to AnthroSource, which includes the journals published by the American Anthropological Association. 

Due to software compatibility issues, the journals in AnthroSource don't work with the Find It @ UWG feature.  So, if your professor tells you to find an article in American Anthropologist from six months ago, we have it, but you have to come to AnthroSource to get it.  We're trying to find a better solution, but this works for now!



JStor
JStor includes back issues from a wide variety of fields, but is a good resource for anthropology if you limit your search to anthropology journals. It does not have the most recent scholarship in any field, but connects to AnthroSource to provide recent articles.  For example, it only carries American Anthropologist up to 2004, but will provide a link directly to that article via AnthroSource when you search on campus. Not every journal offers this connection, and JStor does not include every journal available through AnthroSource.



eHRAF World Cultures
This is a cross-cultural database that contains information on all aspects of cultural and social life. The annually-growing eHRAF database is unique in that the information is organized into cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.



eHRAF Archaeology
This is a cross-cultural database containing information on the world's prehistory. This annually-growing eHRAF database is organized by archaeological traditions. The full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level. eHRAF Archaeology is a unique resource designed to facilitate comparative archaeological studies.



Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842
This database contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.



eSkeletons
eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy. The purpose of this site is to enable you to view the bones of both human and non-human primates and to gather information about them from our osteology database.  The University of Texas at Austin's Department of Anthropology is responsible for the eSkeletons project.

 

General Databases

Dissertations and Theses with Full Text
Source for full text dissertations and theses, including many related to all fields of anthropology.
Please note: do not click the shopping cart to purchase access! They will happily take extra money, but you have already paid for access to most of them with your tuition dollars. Look instead for the Full Text link!



Films on Demand
This database includes thousands of videos in a variety of disciplines.  There are hundreds of videos classified under the "anthropology" subject heading, along with many relevant films categorized under "area studies".



Oxford African American Studies Center
The most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture.



Ethnic News Watch
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Angela Pashia
Contact Info
Request a research consultation through our GoPRO service!
.
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip